Research Guides: News Sources: International News Sources

Global news sources

The following databases allow you to search through hundreds of international news sources at the same time.

Nexis Uni
Click "Search by Subject or Topic" to choose "all news" or "foreign language publications;". LN includes US and international sources, some radio and TV broadcast transcripts, non-English news sources, blogs, and business and industry news. Use the "advanced options" within "All News" to browse or search for a particular publication, or limit your search by geographic location.

Access World News [NewsBank] This link opens in a new window
Full text of 600+ U.S. newspapers and 260+ English-language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
BBC Monitoring This link opens in a new window
News alerts, reports, reference and analysis from global media sources. Monitors global media from 100 countries and in 150 languages.
Coverage: 1996 to present (Advanced Search)
Regions included: Europe, Middle East and North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, Asia & Oceania and Americas
Factiva This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines many of which are from other countries. In particular, there is a good representation of newspapers from Europe and West Asia.
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access to issues from the last 90 days of over 7,000 newspapers & magazines from over 100 countries worldwide.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
CIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. Searchable by keyword, region of the world, and date. Provides the full-text in English.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
Summarizes key news information every week from 100+ major newspapers, news magazines, government & online sources.

Global News Sources
A guide to global information resources, including international news sources.
Newspaper Map
Map of the world with links to newspapers in various geographic locations. Includes information about the language of the newspaper.

News sources by region or language

Links to additional news sources, compiled by regional subject specialist librarians. This is not a comprehensive list; for more information, look at our international studies research guides.

Latin America and Caribbean news sources

German newspapers and magazines

East European news sources (Click on the tab for specific countries and scroll down the page to find news sources)

Arab news sources (Arab world and other Middle East news)

East Asian news sources
China Core Newspapers Database Provides full text access to at least 700 core Chinese newspapers that cover many locations and disciplines in contemporary China.
Chinese Newspapers Collection, 1832-1953 Includes 12 English language newspapers, published in China during the period from 1832-1953. Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
Chinese news sources Scroll down to "News from the Chinese Collection at U-M Library"
Japanese Studies guide Suggested resources related to Japanese studies, including some news sources.
Korean Studies guide Click on "Articles and Databases" tab for suggested Korean news resources.
Times of India archive, 1838-2002 Full-text searchable access to this English-language paper. The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2024 11:50 AM

Subjects: General Information Sources, News & Current Events

Tags: fake news, mass media, news media