Research Guides: Health Sciences Mobile Devices Resources: Public Health / Disaster Relief

Public Health

AIRNow: Provides real-time, location-specific air quality information to help you protect your health. With air quality maps.

iOS l Android

CDC Flu App: Easily view current influenza recommendations & influenza activity updates. More apps from the CDC can be found here.

iOS

CDC Mobile: Provides information on seasonal flu, H1N1 flu, public health emergencies, & more. From the centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

iOS l Android

EPA Mobile: Mobile-friendly version of the US Environmental Protection Agency's web site.

Mobile-friendly website

Epi Info Vector Surveillance: Can save critical time in the field, improve data quality, & standardize data for better operational decision-making.

Android

Magpi (formerly Epi Surveyor): Easily & inexpensively create mobile data collection forms for Android, iOS, Symbian, & SMS, all without programmers or tech consultants.

iOS l Android

Health Map Mobile: Outbreaks Near Me: Provides real-time disease outbreak information; based on outbreak data of varying reliability (from news sources to curated personal accounts, to validated official alerts).

iOS l Android

The Nation's Health: Stay up-to-date on breaking public health news and research, plus events and activities going on around the Harvard School of Public Health.

iOS l Android

Prevention TaskForce: Includes all of the current recommendations from the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF). Formerly called AHRQ ePSS.

iOS l Android

Safe Pregnancy & Birth: A comprehensive app on pregnancy and birth, especially for low resource settings. Available for iOS & Android, in English & Spanish. From Hesperian.

iOS l Android

Tox-App: Search for industrial facilities that reported releasing certain chemicals into the environment to the US EPA TRI program. Tox-App includes a subset of about 100 TRI chemicals for the most current TRI year.

iOS

UV Index: Provides a daily forecast of the UV radiation levels from the sun on a 1 - 11+ scale.

iOS l Android

Disaster Relief

FEMA Mobile: Provides mobile access to the U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency.

iOS l Android

Red Cross Natural Disaster App Series: Different apps for different types of emergencies: hurricanes, tornadoes, shelter, etc.

iOS l Android

Relief Central: Access to USAID Field Operations Guide, CIA World Factbook, & other disaster-related resources.

iOS l Android

REMM--Radiation Emergency Medical Management: Provides guidance on diagnosis & treatment of radiation injuries during disasters.

iOS l Android

Reunite: For medical & relief workers assisting in reuniting families after disasters.

iOS l Android

SAMHSA Behavioral Health Disaster App: Provides access to evidenced-based mental health & substance use information, tools, & resources for use in the field.

iOS l Android

WISER--Wireless system for Emergency Responders: Assists emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents.

iOS l Android