Research Guides: Knight-Wallace Fellows: Finding Statistics and Data Sets

Tips for Finding and Using Data

When searching for data, think about who would collect this data. Social Scientists? Government?
Pay attention to the data sources used in books and articles from your literature review.
- Did the authors deposit their research data?
- Even if they don't share their research data authors should cite the data they used, make use of those citations
When you find a relevant data set, learn as much as you can about it.
- Read the codebook
- Read publications that used that data set and note how those researchers used the data
Cite the data set!

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Library subscription database that provides census data back to 1790. Also has some health, religion and crime data. No need to create a personal account--it's optional.

Social Explorer Guides and Tutorials
data.census.gov
Census Bureau's freely available data portal. It contains data for the most recent 2 decennial censuses as well as the American Community Survey.
data.census.gov Video Tutorials

To search by address and identify tract numbers use the Census Geocoder

Look up Census terminology in the Census Glossary

Statista
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics including technology, health, public opinion, and market research.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.

MiSchool Data
From the Michigan Department of Education. Provides statistics like drop outs and test scores for individual schools and districts

The United States government produces a large amount of data. A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here

Sage Data
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.

Michigan Department of Health & Human Services
Reports and statistics at the county level
Directory of Local Health Departments
Find other health departments
Washtenaw County Health Department
Click on the Data & Publications link at the top of the page.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from international, US and state governments and businesses

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2024 1:40 PM