Library Contact
Statista-For current statistics
- StatistaA portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics including technology, health, public opinion, and market research.
Ebooks
Guide to Finding and Using Ebooks via the library
Not sure where to start?
Not sure where to start your search? Begin at the library website and use Library Search to see results from the catalog, articles, databases, online journals and library website pages.
General databases (includes both scholarly and popular sources)
The following databases are good general resources that cover a wide variety of subject areas.
- Library Articles SearchSearch across hundreds of databases to which the library subscribes. Good for interdisciplinary topics.
- Google ScholarSearch engine that searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of MGet IT full-text links from UM that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library. Good for interdisciplinary topics.
- ProQuestSearch thousands of sources across subject areas: news and current events, science, history, social sciences, humanities and the arts, business, engineering, language, literature and health sciences. Includes both popular and academic resources.
- PsycInfoUse not only to research psychological topics but other subjects including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- Web of ScienceSearch citations across the hard sciences and social science fields. Citations go back to early 20th century.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)News, business, and legal information. Includes some broadcast media transcripts.
Background information/reference sources
Use these to search across many different high-quality encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works licensed by the library that you won't find for free on the web.
- U-M Library Articles Advanced SearchTo limit your search to articles included in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works, use the Format box: scroll down and click on "Reference" in addition to entering search terms in the boxes above. (See the box below for a recorded video demonstration with transcript.)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 volumes of encyclopedias, dictionaries, sourcebooks, etc., including Twayne's Authors & Scribners Writers Series.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOver 300 dictionaries and encyclopedias on all subjects published by Oxford University Press.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowOver 100 scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and related fields.
- Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowOver 70 encyclopedic works on historical, religious, linguistic and international studies topics.
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2025 11:37 PM