Research Guides: Space Sciences & Engineering: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Search for journal articles, conference papers, and research reports in these databases. For a complete list of databases for Computer Science & Engineering, please see Library Search. (If you already have a citation and wish to find the article in the library, please use the MGet It MGet It.)

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, with abstracts, to literature on basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions.
AGU Publications This link opens in a new window
American Geophysical Union publications span a wide range of subjects in the earth and space sciences.
Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
A NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 4.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints.
Compendex (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, with abstracts for most years, to journals and series in meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences.
NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search access to: Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, etc.

Citation Management Tools

The library can help you with different tools for managing your footnotes and creating bibliographies. Those tools are EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley. Expert help is available from Scholarspace.

EndNote
You buy the software and install it on your computer. See the EndNote guide for more information.
Zotero
A free Firefox extension that you use on your own computer, not library or Sites machines. It's good for citing web resources but still in beta. Visit the Zotero guide for more information.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a citation management tool that lets you collect and organize citations, and then easily insert them into documents and format bibliographies. Visit the Mendeley guide for more information.

General Library Research Guides

Citation Help
by Karen A. Reiman-Sendi Last Updated Sep 12, 2024 13767 views this year