Finding Books at U-M Library
- Library Catalog SearchThe Catalog is the definitive place for finding materials held by the U-M Library.
Your results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals. - Interlibrary LoanIf you need a book that the University of Michigan Libraries does not own, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. This is a free service for all U-M faculty, staff, and students!
Search Tips
There are a number of useful strategies you can use when searching for relevant books. Here are a few tips:
- Keyword search: The easiest search you can do is a keyword or "All fields" search.
- Good book approach: If you find a good book and want others that are similar, check the "Subject" tab or "Subjects (LCH)" box and click on the relevant subjects that may lead you to similar books.
- Stacks browsing: Our books are cataloged with a Library of Congress call number. Call numbers are organized by subject, so if you find a good book, try going to its location in the stacks and browse the books that are on either side of it. Chances are you'll find another useful book!
Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Dictionaries
These selected resources are available online to University of Michigan affiliated students, staff & faculty or in print at the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library. For more online engineering reference books, visit:
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
- ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
The astronomical almanacCall Number: QB 8 .A5
Handbook of Space Technology by Call Number: TL794 .H2613 2009ISBN: 1600867014Publication Date: 2009-04-01Presenting a detailed insight into the fascinating world of space, this comprehensive handbook describes the processes and methodologies behind the development, construction, operation, and utilization of space systems.
Heliophysics by Call Number: QB526.S65 H45 2010ISBN: 0521760518Publication Date: 2010-05-06Location: Shapiro Science Library
Heliophysics is a fast-developing scientific discipline that integrates studies of the Sun's variability, the surrounding heliosphere, and the environment and climate of planets.
IHS Jane's space systems & industryCall Number: TL 787 .J281
The International Handbook of Space Technology by ISBN: 9783642411014Publication Date: 2014-07-08This comprehensive handbook provides an overview of space technology and a holistic understanding of the system-of-systems that is a modern spacecraft.Magill's survey of science. Space exploration series by
Call Number: TL 790 .M241 1989ISBN: 0893566004
Suggest a Title
- Purchase Request FormYou may recommend a title for purchase by the U-M Library by filling out this form.