Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Studies

Find research relating to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans, and Queer communities.

Articles Indexes and Databases For LGBTQ Studies

Trying to determine which database is best for your area of LGBTQ-related research can sometimes prove to be the most difficult part of the research process. Below you will find a selection of databases which cover topics related to LGBTQ and sexuality research in a range of disciplines.

Find more databases by browsing our complete list of databases by subject area.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left publications, which cover cultural, economic, political and social change.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch
A full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues.
LGBTQ+ Source
Indexes the popular & scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender/Queer community.
PsycInfo (APA)
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.

Electronic Reference

Listed here is just a sample of electronic LGBTQ reference materials (Encyclopedias, bibliographies, Handbooks, etc.) available to U-M students, faculty, and staff.