Public Policy

Two of the most prominent are: (1) the emerging socio-environmental problems that we face in the next century, and (2) the shifting and expanding theoretical tools available for explaining tackling these problems. UM user only.

Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. UM user only.

A multidisciplinary database with abstracts and citations drawn from over 5980 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. UM user only.

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline.

Provide books, working papers, databases, and key tables with regard to social issues and health. UM user only.

Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973. Also included is the Global Health Archive, consisting of 800,000 records from 1910-1973.UM users only.

Information from the Federal government about HIV/AIDS prevention, testing, treatment, research, and using new media in response to HIV/AIDS.

Provide information about health, nutrition and population of worldwide countries.

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system. This collection offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine. The database features coverage of more than 300 full-text titles and indexing for more than 375 publications. Searchable cited references are also provided. UM user only.

Allows consumers to locate and compare private health insurance plans, hospitals and nursing homes, and provides information about the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

CDC links to vital statistics and records, "Health, United States," and other statistics by topic.

Provides comprehensive database info related to health policy and health data. Open to the public.