Library Contact
Catherine Morse
she/her
Contact:
Government Information, Law and Political Science Librarian
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South
734-936-2333
Finding United States Treaties
HeinOnline's U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library searches treaty text, hearings, official treaty publications as well as unofficial. More information on the unofficial treaty publications can be found here.
The U.S. State Department's United States Treaties and Other International Agreements contains all treaties and international agreements other than treaties to which the United States has become a party during the calendar year.
The U.S. State Department's Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force.
United Nations Treaty Collection
- United Nations Treaty CollectionIncludes status and full text of all multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations - even those that have not been published yet. The UNTC also has bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the UN.
- Hein OnlineProvides United Nations Law Collection that includes the entire collection of the United Nations Treaty series and the Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements.
Background Information on UN Treaties
- Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General(MTDSG)Provides information about the status of these instruments, as Member States sign, ratify, accede or lodge declarations, reservations or objections.
- United Nations Diplomatic ConferencesThis website provides access to the official records of a series of diplomatic conferences, convoked by the United Nations in order to negotiate and adopt several treaties based on drafts worked out by the International Law Commission and considered by the Sixth (Legal) Committee of the General Assembly.
Finding Draft Treaty Documents
- GoogleSearch using the phrase "travaux preparatoires" along with the name of the agreement. Travaux preparatoires is the official term for the preparatory works associated with negotiation. Also consider searching a restricted domain by using site:.un.org
- International Legal MaterialsA journal that often reprints important international agreement documentation.