History of Art

Includes Art and Architecture Thesaurus, Getty Thesaurus of Geographic names, research guides, collection inventories, and more.

The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials. Compliant with international standards, they provide authoritative information for catalogers and researchers, and can be used to enhance access to databases and Web sites. The Getty Vocabularies grow through contributions. The vocabulary data is available for licensing and accessible free of charge below for more limited online use.

Provides finding aids, research databases, bibliographies, etc.

Arcade is the catalog of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC).
Arcade unites the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library, and the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum and The Museum of Modern Art.

critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies
published by the College Art Association

Site to the National Library of France. Gallica is the online bibliographic catalog.

Free sources available through the Frick Reference Library.

CoOL is a full text library of conservation information, covering a wide spectrum of topics of interest to those involved with the conservation of library, archives and museum materials. It is a growing online resource for conservators, collection care specialists, and other conservation professionals.