History of Art

This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to the East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The online BAS contains the full data of all of the printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 edition (published in 1997), as well as tens of thousands of entries compiled since.

The Center for Japanese Studies Publications publishes three series (Michigan Monograph Series in Japanese Studies, Michigan Papers in Japanese Studies, and Michigan Classics in Japanese Studies), and as non-series publications. Center titles are used in teaching and research in a wide variety of universities and colleges and as resources for private industry and government.

This database provides full-text access to more than 8,000 academic journals published in China.

Published by the Freer Gallery of Art

Note: in chinese

Published by Oriental Art Magazine

Published in Sydney, Australia

Fine Arts Reference Section N 7350 .W12
A very extensive bilingual dictionary of Japanese art terms.

Fine Arts Reference Section N 7358 .R65
Provides very brief biographical and career information on artists. Includes collections in which artists' work can be found.

N 7348 .S481 1988

Fine Arts Reference Section N 7349.825 .A781 1994
For each artist this book provides address information, a basic biographical sketch, collections the artist appears in, shows, awards, and publications.

Fine Arts Reference Section N7358 .B62
Provides the style and period associated with each artist. Also includes a short biography and analysis of work. Artists are organized in categories, such as: painting, sculpture, swords, textiles, etc.

GR 335 .W526 2006

Fine Arts Reference Section BL 2001.2 .L54 1976
Defines Indian iconographic terminology, particularly terms related to art history, Hinduism, and Buddhism. Includes references for further reading.

Fine Arts Reference Section N 8191 .I4 R361 1988
Descriptive glossary of Indian iconography. Includes brief but thorough definitions, and in many cases detailed illustrations.

Fine Arts Reference Section N 7346 .T5 B44 1999
Encyclopedic analysis of Tibetan symbols including extensive images that illustrate discussed motifs.

Fine Arts Stacks N 7346 .T5 B436 2003b
Synthesis of the above mentioned Encyclopedia of Tibetan Symbols and Motifs by Robert Beer. Meant to be a more accessible and user-friendly format.

JAANUS is the on-line Dictionary of Japanese Architectural and Art Historical Terminology compiled by Dr. Mary Neighbour Parent.

Conduct a specific search for Asian art.