Research Guides: History of Art: Books

Finding Books

U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Library Catalog Search
If you want to specifically search for books in the Fine Arts Library go to Advanced Search. Type in what you are looking for, and in the "Limit To" section fill in the following: "Library: UM Ann Arbor Libraries" "Location: Fine Arts"
WorldCat
Alternative Titles
World Cat, OCLC Online Union Catalog (OLUC)
RLG Union Catalog, Research Libraries Group, RLIN, Research Libraries Information Network
Description

Combined catalog describing over 360 million books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in 470 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 25,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, 40 national libraries, and selected libraries from 170 countries worldwide).

Library of Congress Classifications

A great way to find books is to visit the Fine Arts Library and browse the stacks. To look for books related to a specific subject area you may want to look for a certain Library of Congress Classification. A few broad classifications can be found below.

Call numbers that begin with these letters signify books that are related to these art topics:

N - Visual Art in General

NA - Architecture

NB - Sculpture

NC - Drawing

ND - Painting

NE - Graphic Arts

NK - Decorative Arts

NX - Art Theory

The following classifications may also be of interest:

GT - Costume

SB - Landscape Architecture and Gardening

TR - Photography

For more help understanding Library of Congress Classifications visit the LC Call Numbers Research Guide.

Interlibary Loan

If you are unable to find the book you need on Library Catalog Search try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.

General Art History Books

Art: A Brief History
Covers history of art from Prehistoric art in Europe -- Art of the ancient Near East -- Art of ancient Egypt -- Early Asian art -- Art of ancient Greece and the Aegean world -- Etruscan and Roman art -- Jewish, Early Christian, and Byzantine art -- Islamic art -- Later Asian art -- Early Medieval and Romanesque art -- Gothic art -- Early Renaissance art -- Art of the High Renaissance and Reformation -- Seventeenth-century art in Europe -- Art of the Americas -- African art -- European and American art, 1715-1840 -- European and American art, 1840-1910 -- Modern art in Europe and the Americas, 1900-1945 -- Art since 1945.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Fine Arts Reference Section N 40 .B4653 2006
An extensive publication of bibliographical information on painters, sculptors, designers and engravers created primarily for art museums, auction houses, historians and dealers.
Facsimile Finder
Free Public Online Database
A comprehensive catalog of fine facsimile editions, created with librarians in mind. A super-fast search engine that delivers descriptions, photos and prices in just a few clicks. Search, compare and find the best facsimiles at the best prices.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages: A Global History
Fred Kleiner revises and expands the Gardner classic which had previously focused only on Western art
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Fine Arts Reference Section N 33 .O931 2004
Primarily deals with Western and Western inspired sculpture, printmaking, and drawing from ancient times to the present day. Provides biographical entries on artists, patrons, and collectors. Also covers styles, movements, techniques, museums, and schools.

The following books are general art history titles. They are a good starting point for research and general reference.

eBooks

eBooks Research Guide
Visit this guide if you are interested in accessing ebooks.

Last Updated: Oct 29, 2024 9:14 AM

Subjects: Arts