Skip to Main Content

Scandinavian Studies

Resources in the University Library and on the Web relating to Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

Politics and Government Introduction

The governments of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden are all some form of parliamentary democracy.

This page has information on the governments of the individual countries, as well as their participation in intergovernmental bodies. Though all countries have information in English, which is often quite substantial, more comprehensive information is often available in the countries' home languages.


Autonomus Regions

There are three autonomous regions within the Nordic countries: The Faroe Islands and Greenland are constituent countries of the Kingdom of Denmark, and  the Åland Islands is an autonomous region within Finland.   

UN Represenatation

(All pages in English)

European Union Representation

Denmark, Finland, and Sweden are members of the European Union. These pages are in the countries' home languages.

Nordic Council

The Nordic Council is a body for international cooperation between the five countries, dealing with a number of economic and cultural areas