Research Methods
Start Here...
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSearches across a large body of the social and behavioral sciences literature from Sage Publications on topics such as designing research projects, understanding methods or identifying new methods, conducting research, and writing up findings.
Finding Information About Research Methods
Literature on research methods can be found in books and journal articles, so searching in the library catalog and databases will turn up relevant sources.
Some relevant subjects to search on in the Library Catalog include:
- Social sciences -- Research
- Social sciences -- Research -- Methodology
- Psychology -- Research; or Social sciences -- Statistical methods
Many publishers distribute books on research methods. Sage is among the most prolific and offers Sage Research Methods: a database devoted specifically to the research methods literature.
APA Handbook
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology by ISBN: 9781433810039Publication Date: 2012The three-volume APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology features descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do.
Writing Handbooks
Listed below are a selection of writing handbooks to help you get started.
For a list of additional books, try one of the following subject searches in the Library Catalog:
- Psychology -- Authorship
- Psychology -- Authorship -- Style manuals
- Psychology -- Authorship -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Psychology -- Research -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Psychological literature -- Publishing
- Social sciences -- Authorship.
- Report writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Dissertations, Academic -- Authorship.
General Writing Handbooks
The Elements of Style by Call Number: PE 1408 .S93 2000ISBN: 0205313426Publication Date: 1999-08-24Additional copies/editions available.
Out-of-copyright online editions are available: 1918 edition, 1920 edition.
This classic text has been in print for over 50 years. Includes chapters on usage, composition, formatting, commonly misused words and expressions, and developing an approach to style (for example: "do not take shortcuts at the cost of clarity" and "use figures of speech sparingly").
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)"The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects."
Psychology Student Writing Handbooks
The Psychology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by ISBN: 9781442266988Publication Date: 2018
Writing, Research, & Publishing Guides
See also the Sage Research Methods database, which includes a large number of books about writing and research techniques.
Write It Up: practical strategies for writing and publishing journal articles by ISBN: 9781433818141Publication Date: 2014Also available as an e-book
Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9780674031579Publication Date: 2008Also available as an e-book
Literature Review Resources
- Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students (video tutorial)This video is provides an overview of the literature review process aimed at graduate students. Produced by North Carolina State University Libraries.
Articles
- Boote, D. N., & Beile, P. (2005). Scholars Before Researchers: On the Centrality of the Dissertation Literature Review in Research Preparation. Educational Researcher, 34(6), 3–15. doi:10.3102/0013189X034006003
- Dunne, C. (2011). The place of the literature review in grounded theory research. International Journal Of Social Research Methodology, 14(2), 111-124. doi:10.1080/13645579.2010.494930
- Reviewing the Literature. (2005). In Jerry J. Wellington, A. Bathmaker, C. Hunt, G. McCulloch, & P. Sikes (Eds.), Succeeding with Your Doctorate. (pp. 73-92). SAGE Publications Ltd. doi:10.4135/9781849209977.n5
Doing a Literature Review: releasing the social science research imagination by Call Number: Hatcher Graduate — Basement A North - H 62 .H25661 1998ISBN: 0761959742Publication Date: 1999"Doing a Literature Review is a practical and comprehensive guide to researching, preparing and writing a literature review, an essential component of research projects. It is an essential tool for postgraduate students but also for undergraduate and novice researchers across the social sciences and humanities." [publisher description]
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by Call Number: Shapiro Undergraduate — 2nd Floor - Q180.55 .M4 F56 2014ISBN: 9781452259499Publication Date: 2013Contents: Reviewing the literature : why? for whom? how? -- Searching and screening : the practical screen and methodological quality (part 1 : research design and sampling) -- Searching and screening : methodological quality (part 2 : data collection, interventions, analysis, results, and conclusions) -- Doing the review -- What did you find? : synthesizing results.
Writing Literature Reviews (6th Ed) by Call Number: Hatcher Graduate — Basement A North - H 61.8 .G34 2014ISBN: 9781936523375Publication Date: 2014Previous editions also available. Check the library catalog.
Academic Reading
- Reading StrategiesInterrogating Texts: Six Reading Habits to Develop in Your First Year at Harvard
- Chapter 5. Reviewing the Literature. In Luker, Kristin. Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences. Harvard University Press, 2008.
- Discussion of "Harvarding" pp. 93-96.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2024 12:54 AM
Subjects: Social Sciences