Videos at the Library
The U-M Library has a large collection of video materials both in physical and streaming formats.
- The Askwith Media Library is your campus source for movies and TV shows.
- All video content is searchable in the Library Catalog Search.
- Streaming video databases include thematic or publisher/distributor based collections of videos and may be browsed or searched independently.
Searching for Video Content in Library Catalog Search
Searching for videos in the Library Catalog Search by using the Filters on the left-hand column to limit the Format to Visual Material.
- Run your search
- On the results page, look at the Filters column on the left-hand side of the page
- Under the Format heading, look to see if there is a link for Visual Material and click it
- You may need to click "Show all ... Format Filters." if you do not see Visual Material listed
- If Visual Material is not listed, then no videos match your search
- Visual Materials include both hard copy and streaming video formats
- Under the Format heading, look to see if there is a link for Visual Material and click it
Streaming Video Databases
A complete list of streaming video databases is available from the Askwith Media Library.
Instructors: Consult the guide from the Askwith Media Library on Library Digital Films Service - Streaming video for instructors
- PsycTHERAPY***To access: after entering PsycNET using above link, click on Browse (in the blue menu bar) and then Psychotherapy Demonstration Videos - PsycTHERAPY***
PsycTHERAPY is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations produced by the American Psychological Association. The videos feature some of North America's leading therapists demonstrating the approaches for which they are known in unscripted, spontaneous sessions with participants who have agreed to have their demonstration sessions taped for educational purposes.
- Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new windowProvides video and documents relating to many important experiments in social, development, and cognitive psychology.
This collection includes 50 streaming videos with corresponding searchable transcripts, as well as links to YouTube videos on related topics. It also includes more than 500 books and documents, including original manuscripts and letters relating to many classic experiments. Access limited to current UM students, faculty and staff.
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoAn online video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Contains nearly 1000 hours of video in many formats including lectures, actual therapy sessions, reenactments, documentaries, and more. Covers a variety of treatment modalities and approaches. - Kanopy Streaming Video - PsychologyKanopy Streaming offers a variety of documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors. Includes popular documentaries, psychotherapy videos, psychological trauma training videos, influential psychologists, symptom media collection, mental health and counseling, and more.
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowOver 1000 documentary films on topics such as health, history, education, gender studies and psychology. Films include searchable transcripts and the ability to save clips and playlists to your user account. Access limited to current UM students, faculty and staff.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of several hundred videos from the Public Broadcasting Service on a variety of topics. Features films from the series Frontline, American Experience, NOVA, Great Performances, America in Primetime, American Masters, e2, and Odyssey. Access limited to current UM students, faculty and staff.
- Clips for ClassA collection of videos on all areas of psychology, collected by Cengage Learning's Psychology group. It is intended for use in connection with psychology courses.
Featured: Psychological Experiments Online!
The Psychological Experiments Online collection includes 50 streaming videos with corresponding searchable transcripts, as well as links to YouTube videos on related topics. It also includes more than 500 books and documents, including original manuscripts and letters relating to many classic experiments.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2024 12:54 AM
Subjects: Social Sciences