Shevon's Profile
General News Databases
Not sure where to start? These databases allow you to search through hundreds of news sources at the same time.
- Access World News [NewsBank] This link opens in a new windowFull text of thousands of U.S. news and international English language news sources from around the world. Includes Detroit News (1873-present), Ann Arbor News (1907-present) and many other Michigan newspapers, along with university student newspapers, selected local tv news and other broadcast transcripts (including shows from MSNBC, CNN, Fox News, CBS and NPR).
- BBC Monitoring This link opens in a new windowNews alerts, reports, reference and analysis on developments around the world.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowOffers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 15,000 sources. Click "News" tab to search through more than 15,000 US and international newspapers, some radio and TV broadcast transcripts, non-English news sources, and business and industry news. Includes the New York Times going back to 1980. How to Find or Browse Articles from a Particular Publication in Nexis Uni
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess to issues from the last 90 days or more (in some cases, several years) of over 7,000 newspapers and magazines. View *page images* from thousands of newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Includes photographs and advertisements.
- ProQuest News & Current Events This link opens in a new windowCombined access to all 50 ProQuest news databases, both historical and current. Prominent titles included are Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Times and Times of India.
- MANY MORE historical news sourcesAdditional resources under the "Historical News Sources" tab above.
The Atlantic (formerly Atlantic Monthly)
- The Atlantic, 1994-present (Newsbank)If you are unable to find a known article from The Atlantic, try searching here. Includes "web edition" articles going back to 2006. Use the advanced search to limit by date.
- The Atlantic (catalog record)The Atlantic (catalog record) includes links to online issues going back to 1983, via a variety of databases.
Detroit Free Press
- Detroit Free Press Complete (1831-present)Combined access to all articles from all editions of the Detroit Free Press
Detroit News
- Detroit News Archive (Access World News) This link opens in a new windowA complete archive of all issues of the Detroit News, from the first issue in 1873 to the present. Includes page images for issues from 1873-1998, and 2018 to the present; text only for 1999-2018.
New York Times
- New York Times Complete (1851-present)Search all NYT articles from regular & international editions, Book Review, magazine, web-only articles, videos, etc.
- NYT individual accounts (via Central Student Government)Funded by CSG, individual accounts are limited to U-M students only.
Washington Post
- Washington Post Complete (1877-present)Search all Washington Post articles from the print and online editions, including web-only articles, blogs, videos, etc.
Wall Street Journal
- Wall Street Journal Complete (1889-present)Search all WSJ articles from regular & international editions (Asia, Europe, Americas), WSJ Pro, web-only articles, etc.
- WSJ membership accounts (via Central Student Government)Funded by CSG, individual accounts are available to U-M students, faculty and staff.
Resources on current events and topics in the news
- Journalist's ResourceFind scholarly research on current events and news topics, arranged by broad categories.
- Duke Reporter's LabExplores new forms of journalism, including fact-checking and structured journalism.
- Health Care Resources for JournalistsFrom the Association of Health Care Journalists
- World News DigestKey news information every week from more than 100 major newspapers, news magazines, other periodicals, and government and online sources from the U.S. and around the world. Content includes news summaries, political cartoons, some video content of political speeches, select social media responses to news events, and infographics.
Need a particular title? Check the library catalog
The U-M Library collects recent issues (usually the last few months) of some papers in print. We may also have online access to a newspaper digitally (via an aggregator database or subscribing to the paper's digital archive). In many cases, older issues are also kept on microfilm, viewable using digital scanners. Visit Serials and Microform Services (Room 203) in the Hatcher Library for help using both print and microfilm.
To see what access we have, regardless of format, use the Library Catalog Search to look up the title of a particular newspaper or magazine.
Specifically, do a "Journal/Serial Title" search for the title:
What if U-M doesn't have what you need?
- Interlibrary Loan (Document Delivery)Use ILL (Interlibrary Loan) to borrow items from non-U-M libraries
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)Try CRL (Center for Research Libraries) to see if they have the item(s) you need
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2024 4:03 PM
Subjects: General Information Sources, News & Current Events