Astronomy & Astrophysics

Catalogs

• VizieR Catalogue Service
  VizieR provides access to the most complete library of published astronomical catalogues and data tables available on-line.


• Astronomer's Bazaar
  The Strasbourg astronomical Data Center (CDS) collection of astronomical data catalogues of observations of star, galaxy, and other galactic and extragalactic objects. This site includes a link to the VizierR service.


• The Guide Star Catalog
  Constructed to support the operational need of the Hubble Space Telescope for off-axis guide stars, contains 18,819,291 objects in the seventh to sixteenth magnitude range, of which more than 15 million are classified as stars.
  Call number: CD-ROM P1
  Location: Science Library Permanent Reserves


• Astronomical Catalogues 1951-1975
  By Mike Collins, a guide to astronomy catalogues published between 1951 and 1975 organized by object type or location, e.g. solar system, nebulae, etc.
  Call number: Z 5151 .C73
  Location: Science Library Reference Shelves

Atlases

• Palomar Observatory Sky Survey I, the SERC Southern Sky and the SERC Equatorial J surveyare available from any of the following mirror sites:
  • Baltimore MD
  
  
  • Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt MD
  
  
  • European Southern Observatory
  
  
  • Instituto di Radiostronmia Bologna Italy


• Palomar Observatory-European Southern Observatory Photographic Atlas of the Northern Sky II
  The second edition of the Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas (see above); began to come out in 1992 .
  Call number: QB 65 .P18
  Location: Science Library (ask at reference desk for assistance)


• The Digitized Sky Survey
  102 CD-ROMS with photographic data from: the UK Schmidt Telescope, Royal Observatory Edinburgh, UK Science and Engineering Research Council, Anglo - Australian Observatory, compressed by a factor of 10.
  Call number: CD-ROM Sc2
  Location: Science Library Permanent Reserves


• The Real Sky Palomar Observatory Sky Survey
  9 CD-ROMS of the Palomar Northern Sky Survey, compressed by a factor of 100.
  Call number: CD-ROM Sc21
  Location: Science Library Permanent Reserves


• The Real Sky Digitized Southern Sky Survey
  11 CD-ROMS of the UK Schmidt Telescope, Royal Observatory Edinburgh, UK Science and Engineering Research Council, Anglo - Australian Observatory compressed by a factor of 100.
  Call number: CD-ROM Sc21
  Location: Science Library Permanent Reserves (also available at http://stdatu.stsci.edu/dss/)


• Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas
  Digitized and indexed images from the important 1971 publication by David E. Bowker, the Lunar Orbiter photographic atlas of the Moon prepared by the Langley Research Center and published by the Scientific and Technical Information Office, National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA SP ; 206. The hard copy of the atlas is held in the Science Library at QB 595 .B78 in the oversize stacks.


• Norton's 2000.0 Star Atlas and Reference Handbook
  Maps showing stars, nebulae and clusters, with descriptive text and reference information; a good atlas for amateurs. By Arthur Norton.
  Call number: QB 65 .N88 1989
  Location: Index is in Science Library, 4th floor stacks, Atlas is in Science Library Atlas Cases 4th floor

Other Data Sources

• Astronomical Almanac
  Contains tabular data for astronomy, space sciences, geodesy, surveying, navigation and other applications. Indicates locations of celestial bodies on given dates.
  Call number: QB 8 .A5
  Location: Science Library Reference Shelves (most current volumes)


• Field Guide to the Stars and Planets
  Includes monthly sky maps, charts and tables. By Jay Pasachoff.
  Call number: QB 64 .M55 2000
  Location: Science Library Reference Shelves


• Cambridge University Press Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics, 2nd ed.
  An online version of an important reference for space astronomy and astrophysics, by Martin Zombeck, 1990.


• Solar Spectrum Atlases from the National Solar Observatory
  FTP files prepared from FTS archives. Follow the instructions in the README html file.