Library Contact
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
NAACP Leadership
For resources on Women leaders of the NAACP I suggest looking for information on particlar women like:
- Daisy Bates
- Ida B. Wells
- Lucille Black
Papers of the NAACP by August Meier (Editor)
ISBN: 0890933979
This collection contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country, charting the NAACP's work and delivering a first-hand view into crucial issues. With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, the NAACP Papers document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond. The NAACP Papers collection consists of 6 modules:
1. NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
2. NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files
3. NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
4. NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
5. NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files
6. NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
-
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
-
GenderWatchA full text database of 140 international publications devoted to women's and gender issues.
Found on Gender Studies and GenderWatch
Race, Class, & Gender: Common Bonds, Different Voices HQ 1206 .R331 1996
Book Chapter
Barnett, B. M., Chow, E. N., Wilkinson, D., & Zinn, M. B. (1996). Invisible southern black women leaders in the civil rights movement: the triple constraints of gender, race, and class., 265–287 .
Greene, C. (2002). WOMEN IN THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT: A QUARTERLY OF WOMEN'S STUDIES RESOURCES. Feminist Collections, 23(3), 4. Retrieved from https://proxy.lib.umich.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/women-civil-rights-movement/docview/221138664/se-2
-
Race, Class, and Gender
by
ISBN: 0803970560Publication Date: 1996-05-21Published in cooperation with Sociologists for Women in Society How do race, class, and gender interrelate? How does the interlocking of race, class, and gender form patterns of social relations and develop into hierarchical orders? What are the dilemmas and contradictions created by the simultaneity of race, class, and gender? How can feminist scholarship based on the complex understanding of the interlocking nature of race, class, and gender transform our knowledge and social life? In Race, Class & Gender, an accomplished cast of contributors with a great diversity of backgrounds--ranging from sociology, African American studies, Chicano studies, ethnic studies, and gender studies--addresses these important issues and much more. This new anthology--significantly derived from a special issue of the journal Gender & Society--seeks to bring understanding to the complex intersections of race, class, and gender. The editors have chosen selections that take the study of race, class, and gender beyond their usual context--that of social stratification--and locate them in the wider sociological world. This informative volume′s broad scope and interdisciplinary emphasis make it an invaluable contribution to the study of social organizations. Offering a comprehensive examination of race, class, and gender, this important volume will be vital to professionals and students in the fields of gender, sociology, race/ethnicity, social problems and theory, and it should appeal to the general public that seeks to enhance personal learning in this subject area.
