Contact Your Librarians!
Librarians are happy to help with any research questions, or to have a consultation in-person or virtually. Contact us below.
Science Collections
While we default to collecting electronic resources wherever appropriate, we hold a large collection of print-format science collections. Most of these print materials are held on the 4th floor of the Shapiro Library. Additional print materials are located in off-site storage and can be requested for on-site use as needed.
Welcome!
Hello and welcome to the U-M Library Science (General) guide! This guide outlines the library's resources for the planning, management, publication, and preservation of academic research. We describe the components of each section below:
For any and all questions, contact us at science.libs@umich.edu or schedule an appointment. We provide customized instruction and research consultation along every stage of the research lifecycle.
- PlanningCreating a Data Management Plan, Conducting a Literature Review, Writing a Grant Proposal
- ManagementVisualize and Analyze Data
- PublicationSelecting a Publication, Publishing Open Access, Communicating Research
- PreservationThe 2022 OSTP Memo, Curating Data, Submitting to a Repository
- Our WorkshopsA listing of upcoming and past library workshops relevant to science faculty and researchers.
Recommended Science Databases
For more specific databases by discipline, see the subject guides below.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines.