Library resources for Michigan Foreign Policy Council (MFPC)

Searchable text of hundreds of newspapers in the United States and selective English-language newspapers or newswires from around the world. UMich Only

Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.

Provides full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of thirteen U.S. and seven international newspapers, including: seven major mainstream U.S. newspapers--Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Times (1851-2008), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1994); six major African American community newspapers; five major British and Irish newspapers; and a major newspaper of India and of Israel. Includes original page images digitized from microfilm. UM User Only.

The collection includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN since 1995. UM User Only.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization that conducts policy research and provides recommendations or policy change.

Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues.

Collection of directories, encyclopedias and guides on US politics and policy from CQ Press. Includes Washington Information Directory.

Collection of over 30 political science reference books, including current and all past issues. Includes CQ Almanac, Exit Polls: Surveying the Amerian Electorate, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Guide to the Presidency, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, Federal regulatory Directory, Washington Information Directory, Historic Documents Series and many others. UM User Only.

Provides bills, laws, government reports, GAO Reports, and Public Papers of the Presidents. Open access for all users.

The Pew Research Center is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.

The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War, including congressional hearing, roll call votes, executive orders, supreme court cases etc.

Online archive of public policy research. Access open to all Internet users.

Harvard's Kennedy School of Government Library compiles a list of links to public policy think tanks. Access open to all Internet users.

provides more than 10,000 listings for members of Congress, Congressional committees and subcomittees, organization charts, and contact information for NGOs. Browse by topic to find information on internships. UM user only.

ProQuest Congressional indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of reports and documents (1789-1969), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-) and Federal Register (1980-) as well as the Serial Set (1789-), the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Firefox is recommended. Documents do not display correctly in Google Chrome. UM User only.

Provides bi-monthly reports with regard to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, technology, and the economy. UM User Only.

Provides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making. UM user only.

Analytical articles on Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995. UM User Only.

The GAO is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.

Offers full-text bills and bill tracking back to the 93rd Congress (1973) and also Congressional committee information.

1990-present