This is the "Indexes to Articles" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

Political Science  Tags: political_science government_politics_and_law  

Indexes, reference tools, and full text collections of political and government information.
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/polisci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexes to Articles             Print Page
  
 

Library Help

 

OR email Grace

Documents Center

Internationally-known web guide to federal, foreign, international, state, and local government research as well as news, politics, and statistical sources. Integrates annotated web links with printed, microform, CD-ROM, and databases for serious research. Navigation tools include an A-Z site map and a Google search engine.

 

Political Science Resources on the Web

University of Michigan's meta-site for political science research. Covers U.S. and foreign political sources, methodology, public opinion polls, and election data. Separate pages on the Arab-Israeli Conflict, U.S. foreign policy, individual U.S. elections, impeachment, war on terrorism, and war in Iraq. Includes web links, printed collections, and data bases. The site is integrated with the broader Documents Center web site of federal, foreign, international, state, and local government information, as well as news and statistics.

 

Remote Access

 

Sources marked as UMich Only in this guide are linked to the library's proxy server so you can access them off-campus using your unique name and password. You can also create your own bookmark to the proxy server using the instructions at: http://www.lib.umich.edu/labs/proxy/

 
 

Indexes to Articles

Alternative Press Index The leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Indexes 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. 90% are not indexed elsewhere. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text of the articles.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI00551
UMich Only
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science Classified index of 500 English language titles with an author index, 1886-1974
Graduate Library Z 7161 .C77
International Bibliography of Political Science Index to political science articles in Western European languages. Subject index refers to abstract number. 1953+
Graduate Library Z 7163 .I62
International Political Science Abstracts Provides abstracts of political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide, 1989+ The Index serves as a thesaurus. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text of articles. Printed issues are located in the Graduate Library stacks as JA 36.I6
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI00003
UMich Only
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Substantial holdings of economics, population studies, and statistics journals. Political science journals include: American Journal of International Law (1907+), American Journal of Political Science (1973+), American Political Science Review (1906+), International Organization (1947+), International Studies Quarterly (1967+), Journal of Politics (1939+), Political Science Quarterly (1886+), Public Opinion Quarterly (1937+), and World Politics (1948+). The Advanced Search is the most flexible tool. Use the Download/pdf command to view the entire article on the screen and download a copy.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI00092
UMich Only
Left Index Covers 120+ journals with a leftist viewpoint concerning politics, economics, labor, ecology, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text of materials.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI01540
UMich Only
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Especially helpful for law reviews, broadcast media transcripts, newspapers, and federal and state court rulings.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI01173
UMich Only
ProQuest Research Library Indexes over 2,500 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Provides full text for articles as early as 1987 from over 1,600 of these journals and magazines. Use the M-Get-It button if text is not indicated as being online.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI00427
UMich Only
Public Affairs Information Service International Indexes books, journals, and government documents on public affairs, especially political, economic, health, and environmental issues. Includes state, U.S., United Nations, and foreign government publications. Coverage begins in 1915.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI01985
UMich Only
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) A multidisciplinary database covering 1700 journals in the social sciences since 1956. Users can search new articles or the original author of a book or article to determine who is citing it in the current journal literature. Use the M-Get-It button to locate the full text.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI01738
UMich Only
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serial literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Indexes foreign language journals and translate titles into English. A thesaurus appears under Search Tools. Coverage: 1975+ Use the M-Get-It button if there is no full text indication for the article.
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V/?func=native-link&Resource=UMI00263
UMich Only
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageCatherine Morse
    Contact Info:
    Government Documents Center
    Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library
    734-936-2333
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Government Documents, Political Science, Public Policy

     

    MTagger

    Coming soon

    Site Feedback

    Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

    © 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

      Loading content... please wait