Research Guides: Coulter Program: Health

Related Research Guides

Health Statistics Guide
Includes pages on Incidence and Prevalence, Economics and Utilization, and Health Indicators.
Global Health Information & Resources Guide
Includes pages on Global Data & Statistics, Country Profiles, and Global Burden of Disease.

General Health Sciences Resources

PubMed @UM
Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Scopus
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers.
Cochrane Library
Database of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Embase
A global biomedical bibliographic database, complimentary to PubMed/MEDLINE for pharmacy-related research, or biomedical topics from a global perspective.

Incidence and Prevalence Data This link opens in a new window
Includes summaries of incidence and prevalence data found in medical literature.

Web of Science
Large database with emphasis on STEM and the health sciences, coverage similar to Scopus.

Health Sciences Reference and Clinical Resources

AccessMedicine
This resource includes over 30 clinical and educational online textbooks, and provides access to information for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, and self-assessment or board review.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's single search product for the clinical health sciences. (NOTE: Access to pdfs of books requires creation of a personal account)

Dynamed
a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full-text resource that searches across more than 25 medical and drug texts.

UpToDate
Online clinical information resource consisting of topic reviews in the subject areas of internal medicine and subspecialties; obstetrics and gynecology; family medicine; and pediatrics.
more...less...
...Topic reviews in UpToDate are solicited from authors who have been identified as experts by the editorial staff and the participating societies.

Information on how to access UpToDate:

UpToDate can be accessed using an on campus network or by creating your own account on UpToDate while on a campus network. With a personal account, UpToDate can be accessed from off-campus. Here are the instructions for creating an individual account on UptoDate while on a campus network. (You have to verify your ID every 90 days from a campus network.)

Health Statistics & Data

Here are a few sources of health statistics to get you started. Before searching, you should review the National Library of Medicine's Finding and Using Health Statistics tutorial, especially the section on Health Data Sources.

Tips for locating health statistics:

Clearly define geography before searching (example: United States; North America; whole world). Many health statistic sources only have information on a particular geographic area.
Very recent health statistics aren't always available but try to locate the most recent statistics.
Not every imaginable health statistic is available online!
When reading scholarly articles, health statistics may be mentioned in the text. Use the References section to identify the sources of these statistics.

AHRQ Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
HCUP is a family of databases that provide a broad range of U.S. healthcare data, including hospital care, medical practice patterns, and cost of health services.
National Center for Health Statistics
Provides access to a collection of national surveys and statistics focused on U.S. health, including the National Vital Statistics System and National Health Interview Survey.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
From the "Statistics, Trends & Reports" list, access data about the U.S. Medicare and Medicaid services, including program and provider statistics, costs, and utilization.
Healthy People 2020
Data from 2010-2020 related to a set of national goals and objectives for improving the health of Americans.
Healthy People 2030
Set of national 2030 goals and objectives. Data is added annually.
Community Health Status Indicators
Local, county-level health data for length of life, quality of life, and health factors. The health factor categories are health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics.

Global Resources:

WHO World Health Statistics
Available reports include sustainable development goals, environmental health, immunization, and health systems financing. Statistics are provided by World Health Organization (WHO) member country, WHO region, and globally.
World Bank Open Data
Provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from the World Bank data sets including World Development Indicators.