Classic Foundational Texts - John Bowlby's Attachment & Loss Trilogy
E-Book Links (full text via the International Psycho-Analytical Library)
Print and Complete U-M Library Holdings:
Reference E-Books
Handbook of Attachment, Third Edition by ISBN: 9781462525331Publication Date: 2016Note: Library e-book is limited to a maximum of 3 simultaneous users.
***Recommended by Prof. Jodl***
The Routledge Handbook of Attachment by ISBN: 9780415538268Publication Date: 2014
About Reference Books
Reference books, like encyclopedias and handbooks, provide background information about a topic.
Reference books can help you:
- Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- Find references to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific keywords to use in online searches
"The purpose of an encyclopedia is to summarize and codify knowledge in a given field. This is in contrast to a handbook, which offers essays on cutting-edge research in a field, or a dictionary, which provides short, to-the-point definitions of key concepts in a field."
Source: Sica, A. (2001). Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries. In N.J. Smelser & P.B. Baltes (Eds.), International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Retrieved from http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/B0-08-043076-7/00039-5. As cited in American Library Association. (2011). ALA Guide to Sociology & Psychology Reference. Chicago: Author.
Search Across Reference Books
Reference Databases
Search across multiple subject specific encyclopedias and handbooks:
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of e-books, reference books and documentary videos in the social sciences.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to over 1,500 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOver 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.