Library Contact
Barbara Alvarez
Contact:
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
913 S. University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
913 S. University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
(734) 936-3261
Finding Library Materials
- Use the U-M Library Search Catalog to find the best resources for your research among the library's millions of books, journals, films, sound recordings, electronic resources and more.
- Use WorldCat to search multiple library catalogs at once, including U-M Library Search Catalog. Titles that are not available through U-M may be easily requested via the Interlibrary Loan from the WorldCat record.
Searching tip videos:
- How to Search the U-M Library Catalog (2:30 minutes)
- How to Find and Access Articles Using U-M Library Search (2:50 minutes)
- Finding Library Databases (2:21 minutes)
- Why Use Library Databases? (2:41 minutes)
Orientation videos:
Recommended Databases for Brazilian Studies
- Domínio PúblicoA collection of 500+ of literary, artistic and scientific works (in text, sound, image and video). Works belong to public domain or have authorized distribution.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)Identifies articles, books and conference papers on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. For searching tips see Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS): A Resource Guide.
Coverage: 1935- - MLA International BibliographyIndexes books, articles, dissertations and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
Coverage: 1925- - SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)Covers a large selection of Brazilian journals and periodicals in subjects related to humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. Open Access.
- SciELO LivrosBrazilian academic e-books published by major university presses. 400+ titles available.
Recommended Guides (in English)
- Brazil: Hispanic Division Country GuideFrom the Library of Congress, a curated guide including digitized primary source materials in a wide variety of formats, books and periodicals, online databases, and tips for searching.
- Latin America Network Information Center (LANIC): BrazilFrom the University of Texas-Austin, a comprehensive collection of academic research resources.
- Researching BrazilFrom Indiana University, a bibliographic index and a collection of online resources, including online directory of institutions, a bibliography of print sources, and links to selected websites relevant to researchers.
U-M collection highlights
Brazilian Gay Rights Movements’ NewspapersHoused in the University of Michigan Library’s Joseph A. Labadie Collection. Some items are digitized and available through the Archives of Sexuality and Gender program. 24 Catalog results (updated October 2021). Image: Boletim do Quimbanda-Dudu/Grupo Gay Negro da Bahia (call number HQ 75.12 B688).
Literatura de Cordel collection407 catalog results (updated November 2024).
Image: A mulher vampiro e o exemplo das costas nuas (PQ 9660 .C673 B67 M85 1970)
Marcelo Mirisola PapersBorn in São Paulo in 1966 from parents of Italian descent, Marcelo Mirisola is an acclaimed contemporary Brazilian author with over twenty books published since his 1998 debut. Acquired for the U-M Special Collections Research Center in 2022, the collection comprises mainly materials produced during the first 15 years of his career (1989 – 2004). Picture: Auto-retrato.
Omenelick 2° atoAvailable in print and online. Omenelick 2° ato é uma plataforma de comunicação empenhada em valorizar e refletir criticamente a produção artística da diáspora africana, bem como das manifestações culturais popular e urbana do ocidente negro, com especial destaque para o Brasil.
William L. Clements Library materials on BrazilIncludes maps, atlases, books, manuscripts, pictorial works, archival material, and more. 557 catalog results (updated June 2021).
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 2:00 PM
Subjects: Humanities, International Studies