Highlights: Older Items
- Man Into Woman: authentic record of a change of sex Published in 1933.
- Venus Castina: famous female impersonators, celestial and human Published in 1933 & reprint of 1928 edition.
- Transvestites Tell Their Stories Published in 1947.
- "I Change My Sex" by Hedy Jo Star Published in 1963.
- The Transsexual Phenomenon Published in 1966
Highlights: Fiction
Click here for a complete list of all fiction items in the NTL&A collection.
- Fated for Femininity Date of publication unknown - 91 pages.
- The Turnabout Party: a Novelette Date of publication unknown - 62 pages.
- Double Switch Published in 1964 - 42 pages.
- I Want What I Want Published in 1968 - 224 pages.
- Sex Change Published in 1970 - 192 pages.
- Brother Becomes Sister! Published in 1986 - 106 pages.
- Between Two Worlds Published in 1991 - 115 pages.
- Genderflex: Sexy Stories on the Edge and In-Between Published in 1996 - 203 pages.
Labadie Collection: Transgender Items
|
The Special Collections Library at the University of Michigan houses all the items from the National Transgender Library and Archives. The NTL&A is a repository for books, magazines, films, videotapes, journals and newspaper articles, unpublished papers, photographs, artwork, letters, personal papers, memorabilia, and ephemera related to the transgender and transsexual movement. |
Click here for a list of all the National Transgender Library & Archives currently cataloged in Mirlyn.
Listed here are a number of important and unique items from the collection which may be of interest to students and scholars doing transgender research:
- Man Into Woman: an authentic record of a sex change Published in 1933 and translated into English from German.
- Mummy Becomes a Man Children's book published in 1990.
- Transgender Liberation: a Movement Whose Time Has Come Written by Leslie Feinberg, a LGBTQ activist and leader in the transgender movement. Published in 1992.
- Transgender Warriors: Making History from Joan of Arc to RuPaul (or Dennis Rodman) Also written by Leslie Feinberg. Provides an historical prospective to how society perceives transexuality. Two versions were published in 1996 and Special Collections houses the title listed here. The alternate title is available in Hatcher.
- Reverse Sex This 127-page book published in 1962 was written in French and translated into English. Includes 64 pages of various plates and portraits.
- Questions and Answers on the Sex Life and Sexual Problems of Transvestites Before the late 1960s and 1970s, the distinction between transvestites and transgendered people was rarely made. This 31 page booklet published in 1950 is one such example.
- FTM Newsletter Published by FTM International and explores the FTM experience. Still being published under the name "FTMI Newsletter".
- Girly: Transgender Scene 'Zine Was published quarterly beginning in 1995. Also known as "Girly".
Transgender Library & Archive: Selected Journals & Newsletters
There are number of unique and interesting journals and newsletters which are a part of the NTL&A collection. Listed here is a small selection of various titles.
Click here for a list of all of the periodicals associated with the NTL&A cataloged in Mirlyn.
- The C.A.T/S. box. Journal published by the Community Alliance of Transsexuals.
- Chrysalis: Gender Transient Affinity newsletter Newsletter published by the Gender Transient Affinity organization.
- Chrysalis: the journal of transgressive gender identities Different than the newsletter published by Gender Transient Affinity. This journal was published by American Educational Gender Information Service.
- The Crossdressers Foyer: Where Boys Become Girls Published in 1975 and 1976 by the United Transvestite and Transsexual Society.
- Help Me--Accept Me: Newsletter Newsletter published 1991-1997 by the organization Help Me--Accept Me.
- Queen Zine: Newsletter of the Transgender Education & Outreach Program Newsletter published by the Transgender Education and Outreach Program.
- TransAction: a Newsletter for Activist Transsexuals and Their Supporters Newsletter published out of Minnesota.
- TransFagRag: Information & Networking for Gay/Bi Transmen Journal published by Elessar Press.
- TransLife International: the World's Finest Transgender Magazine British journal published by TransLiving International.
- TransSisters: the Journal of Transsexual Feminism Journal published by Skyclad Publishing Company.
- Gender Expressions Published by Bisley Enterprises.
- Dyscourse: the Journal of the Gender Dysphoria Trust International
Subject Librarian |
Beth StricklandPhone: 734-647-2630
Office: 214-E Graduate Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Women's Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Graduate Reference
Highlights: Radio & TV Transcripts
- The Homosexual in Our Society This is a 32-page transcript of a radio program which originally aired in 1958.
- The Rejected This is a 26-page transcript of a T.V. interview which aired in 1961 and featured Margaret Mead.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait