This is the "Home" page of the "Korean Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Korean Studies   Tags: asian_languages_and_culture, asian_studies, best_bet, east_asian_studies, international_studies, korean_studies  

Provides selected research resources in the area of Korean Studies, with a particular focus on social sciences and humanities resources.
Last Updated: Mar 12, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/koreanstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Short Cuts to Catalogs

Mirlyn 

U-M Library Catalog

 WorldCat 

World wide Union Catalog (Login required for off-campus users)

 RISS International  (전국대학소장자료)

Union Catalog of university & college libraries in Korea

 National Digital Library  (국가전자도서관)

National information database linking 8 major Korean national library catalogs

 Google Book Search   

Google site to search over the full text of books

Hathi Trust     

A shared Digital Repository for research libraries

 

Introduction

This guide provides selected resources supporting teaching and research in Korean Studies. For resources covering multiple countries in East Asia, please consult the Research Guide for East Asian Studies.

For detailed Information on Korean Collection, please click HERE.

 

E-Resources

Go to "Articles & Databases" page for Korean Full-Text journal articles (DBPIA / KISS), E-Books, and Newspaper archives.

ArticlesPlus and Google Scholar help you find articles in Korean. Just key in 한글 in a search box!


ArticlesPlus Search Box ArticlesPlus 

Google Scholar
 

News from the Korean Collection at UM Library

* New BooksFor a list of newly cataloged items within 1 to 4 weeks,

                     please Click HERE!

* Book Purchase RequestsPlease Click HERE!

* UBorrow

A new interlibrary loan borrowing service using the combined library catalog of our peer institutions in the Big Ten is now available. The UBorrow service is a faster option for book loans and offers a 12-week loan period.

 

UBorrow is a faster, more predictable interlibrary loan (ILL) option for the borrowing of physical items. Uborrow allows you to:

  • Search or browse a database of 14 combined library catalogs (Big 10 universities plus Center for Research Libraries)
  • Discover if a book is available at MLibrary or within the consortium with one search
  • Place a request that goes directly to another institution without MLibrary staff intervention:
  • Expect a faster and more predictable turnaround time (usually within 5 business days)
  • Receive 12-week book loans, which is longer than standard ILL  (DVDs and other special materials will still have relatively brief loan periods)

 

       

      About Korean Collection

      Korean Library Collections at the University of Michigan

                                                                                                                                          July 2012

      The University’s involvement with East Asian countries can be traced back 130 years to the tenure of Dr. James Burrill Angell, third president of the University. Recognized for his expertise in international affairs, President Angell was called upon to serve as the Ambassador to China and lived in Beijing from 1880 to 1881. Under his great leadership and vision, the University played a major role in expanding opportunities for students from the Pacific-Rim countries.

       

      The establishment of the Center for Japanese Studies in 1947 and the Center for Chinese Studies in 1961 has further developed teaching and research on East Asia. Michigan eventually became a major center for Asian education with the creation of the centers for the study of Asian languages and cultures. Korea-related studies at the University have a relatively short history of 20 years compared to other East Asian Studies at the University. Korean language courses were first offered in 1990 and the Korean Studies Program (KSP) was officially founded in 1995 at the International Institute with generous financial support from the Korea Foundation. The KSP was upgraded to the Center for Korean Studies (CKS) in 2007.

       

      To satisfy the instructional and research needs of the rapidly developing KSP, the Korean Collections began to collect books and other materials on Korea on a large scale in 2000. One epoch-making development is to join the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA) as the 10th member in 2003. The Consortium is funded by the Korea Foundation and each member library is committed to develop in-depth collections on assigned subject areas. Michigan is responsible for further developing the following subject areas; Historiography, Democratization, Reunification questions, Labor relations, Auto industry, Publications on Korea and Korean published in Japan, Publications on Korea and Korean published in Detroit and Mid West area.

       

      As of June 2012 , the holdings of the Collections number more than 45,000 in monographs and periodicals, and a wide range of e-resources. There is no doubt that the Korean Collections continue to help facilitate groundbreaking scholarship in Korean Studies with the strong commitment and support of the University and the Foundation.

      Library Contact

      Profile Image
      Yunah Sung
      Contact Info
      The University of Michigan
      414 Hatcher North
      920 N. University

      Tel: 734-936-2408
      Send Email

      Contact

      We welcome your feedback on our web site.

      Copyright

      Creative Commons

      Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

      ©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip