Library Contact
Barbara Alvarez
Contact:
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
913 S. University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
913 S. University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
(734) 936-3261
Journals
These are the core journals where you can find scholarly articles on Portuguese-speaking African countries. Note that some are journals that publish on African literatures and cultures in general and others focus on Lusophone, Hispanic, and Latin American disciplines. The list is organized by relevance and not by alphabetical order. A comprehensive list of journals on African studies can be found here.
- Luso-Brazilian ReviewPublishes interdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures, with special emphasis on scholarly works in literature, history, and the social sciences.
Coverage: 1964- - Portuguese Studies ReviewThe PSR is an multi-lingual peer-reviewed research journal for the study of countries, regions, communities, and institutions sharing, exploring, transforming, or developing a Portuguese, Brazilian, or other Luso-related heritage. Articles, review essays, and book reviews in English, Portuguese, French, and Spanish.
Coverage: 1992- - Cadernos de Estudos AfricanosPublished by the Center of International Studies (CEI) in Lisbon and focuses on an academic approach to Africa, specializing in the Social Sciences branch of African Studies, and it is particularly committed to an internationalizing scope, following a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives. The journal publishes articles in four languages, Portuguese, English, Spanish and French.
Coverage: 2007- - Matatu: Journal for African Culture and SocietyJournal on African literatures and societies dedicated to interdisciplinary dialogue between literary and cultural studies, historiography, the social sciences and cultural anthropology.
Available online.
Coverage: 2003- - Research in African LiteraturesPremier journal of African literary studies worldwide and provides a forum in English for research on the oral and written literatures of Africa
Coverage: 1970- - Journal of African Cultural StudiesCovers subjects on African Literature; African Studies; Area Studies; Cultural Studies; Humanities; Language & Literature; Literature; Literature by Geographic Area, and Media & Film Studies.
Coverage: 1998- - Colóquio LetrasJournal published by the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian in Portugal. Publishes literary criticism, poetry, and short works of fiction from Portuguese-speaking countries.
- Bulletin of Hispanic StudiesHispanic Studies and Researches on Spain, Portugal and Latin America.
- Studies in Hispanic and Lusophone LinguisticsDedicated to publishing work in all sub-fields of linguistics and from all theoretical approaches; articles deal primarily with the linguistic analysis of Hispanic and/or Lusophone languages.
- P- Portuguese Cultural StudiesRefereed, electronic journal dedicated to interdisciplinary, theoretical, cultural studies, focused on Portugal, Brazil and the Portuguese-Speaking World.
Additional journals (in print):
- Claridade: revista de arte e letrasCall Number: PQ 9942.5 .C53 1986Published by Instituto Caboverdiano do Livro. Organização, coordenação e direcção de Manuel Ferreira. Text in Portuguese and Creole, including some parallel Portuguese translations. Gift of Russell G. Hamilton.
- Mar além: revista de cultura e literatura dos países africanos de língua oficial portuguesaCall Number: PQ 9900 .A35Gift of Russell G. Hamilton.
- Mensagem: boletim Casa dos Estudantes do ImpérioCall Number: PQ 9905 .M47 1996Gift of Russell G. Hamilton.
Journals (other)
- Revista África e africanidadesPublished in Brazil, covers a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences in areas of African, Afro-Brazilian, and Afro-Caribbean studies.
- Revista Africana StudiaPublication of the Centro de Estudos Africanos da Universidade do Porto. Covers articles in the humanities and social sciences. Open access. Registration required.
CoverageL 1999- - Studies in Hispanic and Lusophone LinguisticsPublishes articles on the linguistic analysis of Hispanic and/or Lusophone languages, which is interpreted broadly so as to include not only Spanish and Portuguese, but also Catalan, Galician, Spanish and Portuguese based Creoles, and other such areas of investigation.
- Camões : revista de letras e culturas lusófonasPublished by the Instituto Camões in Portugal.
Coverage: 1998-
Historical newspapers
- O Luso-Africano1916
- O Africano1909
- O brado africano1918-1922