Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

EndNote Basic

Provides an introduction to a free, web-based version of the citation management software, EndNote, that is best used as a collaborative tool.

Download the Cite-While-You-Write Add-in

Cite-While-You-Write (CWYW) is an add-on for Microsoft Word that allows you to insert & format in-text citations & bibiolographies from your EndNote Basic library. Download and install the plug-in by clicking the Cite While You Write link in the Format tab. The plug-in is available for Word for both Windows and Mac computers.

Creating Stand-alone Bibliographies

Need to create a stand-along bibliography?  You export a bibliography as a .txt, .rtf, or html file.

1.  Create a group for the citations you wish to include in the bibliography.

2.  On the Format tab, click Bibliography.

  • At References, select the appropriate group of references
  • At Bibliographic Style, select the style you wish to use from the dropdown list
  • At File format, choose the file type.

3.  You can Save the file, E-mail it, or Print it.

Inserting Citations into Word Documents

1. Click on the EndNote Web tab in Microsoft Word.
2. Move your cursor to where the in-text citation should be.
3. Click the Insert Citations icon.
4. Enter a word (author name, for example) in the search box to bring up the citation you want.
5. Select the correct citation.
6. Click Insert.
7. EndNote Basic includes many of the most common citation styles, such as APA, Chicago, & Vancouver.

CWYW creates an in-text citation and a bibliography for you. Remember to double check the formatting of the citations & bibliography.