Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History Honors Colloquium

Resources for students in UM's History Honors Colloquium: how to find background information on a topic, how to search the library catalog, how to locate primary and secondary sources in a variety of formats, and how to create and manage citations.

The Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago style is the citation method most frequently used in history.

A quick guide to citing sources according to the Chicago Manual of Style can be found here.

The full guide can be found by clicking on the link below.

Parts of a Citation

When creating and compiling citations, make sure you know:

Parts of a citation for a book:

Parts of a citation for a journal article:
                                                                                                                                                                                          
Parts of a citations for sources found on the web:

Helpful Definitions

Citation:

  • The basic, necessary information needed to locate the work.

    The style (e.g. Chicago, MLA, APA) dictates the order and format of the information, but the basic elements necessary such as title, author, publication date and so on are generally universal.

In-text Citation:

  • An attribution to quoted or summarized material used within the text of the paper. Contains a limited amount of information, which varies by style.

    Bibliography:

    • List of all the citations referred to in your paper, usually at the end of the paper.

    Annotated Bibliography:

    • List of citations, along with a brief summary and evaluation of each work.

    Citation Managers

    There are online tools to help you keep track of citations and format your bibliography. A helpful guide to the different citation management options (including RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote) can be found here.

    Refworks is available for free to all UM students. 

    When using a citation manager to format notes or bibliography, make sure that you proofread very carefully. Citation managers are very helpful, but can sometimes be wrong. Check your citations against the proper style guidelines, just to be sure the formatting is correct.

    For more help, visit the ScholarSpace at the Graduate Library.

    Refworks

    Once you've gotten to the RefWorks  login page select Sign up for an individual account.

    In the New User Information for University of Michigan Library screen, enter your name, login name, password, U of M e-mail address, type of user, and area of focus, then click on Register. Once you’ve registered, a confirmation will be sent to your e-mail address. You’ll also receive periodic updates from RefWorks on enhancements and upgrades.

    NOTE: It is recommended that you DO NOT use your UM Kerberos password, but select another password of your choice.


    What is RefWorks?

    Top

     

    RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service. RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks features also facilitate manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography.

    RefWorks is similar in function to software products such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and ProCite. It differs in that personal databases are stored on the RefWorks server and can be accessed through the University Library institutional account from wherever the user happens to be. In addition, there is no charge for use to University of Michigan current faculty, staff and students.

     


    How do I access RefWorks?

    Top

    On Campus

    To access RefWorks account on campus, you can go directly to http://www.refworks.com/refworks/. RefWorks will recognize the IP address on your computer as U of M and the RefWorks User Login for the University of Michigan University Library window will appear.

    Off Campus

    If you are off campus and want to setup an account, you’ll need to go through the Search Tools page at: http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/
    Click on Find Databases then enter RefWorks in the Title search box. You’ll be asked to sign on using library authentication. 

     


    How do I set up a RefWorks account?

    Top

     

    Once you've gotten to the RefWorks login page, select Sign up for an individual account.

    In the New User Information for University of Michigan Library screen, enter your name, login name, password, U of M e-mail address, type of user, and area of focus, then click on Register. Once you’ve registered, a confirmation will be sent to your e-mail address. You’ll also receive periodic updates from RefWorks on enhancements and upgrades.

    NOTE: It is recommended that you DO NOT use your UM Kerberos password, but select another password of your choice.