Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Film & Video Studies / Screen Arts & Cultures

Selected resources useful for conducting research on moving image media of all kinds, including cinema (popular movies, documentaries, animation, etc.), television, and digital media (video games, etc.).

Background facts and figures about all moving image media combined (film, television, etc.)

British Film Institute (BFI) Film & TV Database British Film Institute database providing information (credits, synopses) for 810,000 films and TV programs of all kinds produced worldwide, from the beginning of film production to the present. Also provides filmographies and background information for 1.2 million people, 210,000 organizations, and 23,000 festivals in the film and television industry.
Worldwide Internet access.
International Dictionary of Broadcasting and Film A comprehensive guide to professional filmmaking and broadcasting terminology.
Print version available in Graduate Library Reference at call number: PN 1990.4 .B641
International Encyclopedia of Communication Provides overview articles with bibliographies of key resources on all aspects of communications, including many relevant to the study of television, cinema, video games, digital media, etc.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb) A comprehensive international guide to films and television shows and the people who make them. Provides descriptions, complete credits lists, episode guides, ratings, and links to related materials. Includes films and TV programs currently in production but not yet released.
Worldwide Internet access.