|Periodicals Index Online (PIO)||
An index to millions of articles in more than 4,500 European and
American humanities and social science journals (including 22 film and
video studies journals), from their first issues through 1995. Covers
many older journals not indexed electronically anywhere else. Includes
full text for 475 of the journals (including older issues of Cinema
Journal, Film History, Framework, Journal of Popular Film and
Television, Monthly Film Bulletin, and Sight & Sound).
|ProQuest Historical Newspapers||
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of the New York
Times (1851-2004), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Chicago Tribune
(1849-1986), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990) and Washington Post
(1877-1991), plus five African-American community newspapers: Atlanta
Daily World (1931-2003), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles
Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) and
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Includes original page images digitized
Text-only access (without images of original printed pages) to more recent articles--up to yesterday's issue--from first 5 titles is available in Access World News and/or LexisNexis Academic databases, and from Chicago Defender & New York Amsterdam News is available in Ethnic Newswatch database.
|Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)||
Indexes articles from 240 popular periodicals published in the U.S.
& Canada, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion,
etc. Useful for locating articles and reviews concerning films and
television programs produced before 1982.
Make sure box for "Readers Guide Retro" is checked on initial search screen. Can also click on "Open Database Selection Area" and check box for "Readers Guide Abstracts" to search from 1982-present.