Theatre and Drama

Arranged chronologically, this book documents each theatre season from 1869-1914. Treats primarily New York’s first-class houses, but also includes productions at lesser houses when information was readily accessible.

Arranged chronologically, this book documents each theatre season from 1930-1969. Includes Broadway and Off-Broadway offerings.

Includes all non-musical Broadway productions, virtually all Off-Broadway shows, and a selection of Off-Off-Broadway offerings.

Provides historical background, personnel, repertory, and bibliographies for American theatre companies formed between 1749 and 1887. Appendices include a chronology of companies, companies by state, and an index of people and plays.

Same coverage as above, but for 1888-1930.

Same coverage as above, but for 1931-1986.

A comprehensive history of New York theatre covering the years 1700 through 1894.

Title, publisher, and location vary, so search by call number in the Library Catalog to see complete holdings/locations. Provides an overview of the season on and Off-Broadway and essays on the best plays of the year. Includes a listing of plays produced on, Off-, and Off-Off-Broadway, with a cast list, production credits, dates, and brief overview of each, as well as new professional productions (listed by state) and lists of awards, longest-running plays, etc.

This guide is arranged geographically – for each text/dramatic representation, a date and a bibliographical reference to published editions or manuscript sources are given. Includes a chronological list of texts, a list of sites, and an index of playing companies, playwrights, and playing places.

Attempts to provide a description of every legitimate theatrical production given in the New York professional theatre during the 1920s. Arranged alphabetically by work. Appendices include a calendar of productions, play categories (genre, subject matter, etc.), awards, theatres, and longest-running shows.

Same coverage as above, but for the 1930s.

Same coverage as above, but for the 1940s.

Includes complete Off-Broadway seasons from the present back to 1958, as well as notable productions from earlier years. Includes dates, theatre, and credits for each production. Allows searching by show title, name, role, award, theatre, and date.

Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.

Provides a chronological listing of the plays and players on the London stage for the given decade. Entries include title, genre, number of acts, author, theatre, date and length of run, performers, production staff, and references to reviews. Includes an index to plays and performers.

Available full text through Hathi Trust.

Covers the year on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway. Provides a chronological listing of plays opening in the given season, with cast lists, production credits, and a brief synopsis for each. Includes productions from past seasons that played and/or closed; productions by professional regional companies; and lists of awards, longest-running plays, etc.

An A to Z listing of productions; listings include the date of the production's first performance, the theatre, and the cast list.