Reviews

Coverage: 1874-present, fulltext availability and coverage varies by title

Indexes over 425 scholarly and popular music periodicals from more than twenty countries.

To find reviews, click on Search Articles. Type the musician's name, or title of the work, or other term of interest into the Keyword search box. Under Document Type, select Music Review from the list (you will have to click on the "Down" button to get all the way to "Music Review" and then click on the "Select" button).

Coverage: 1980- present (varies by title)

Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers.

To find reviews, click on the News tab in the left sidebar, then click on the "All News" link. Type the name of the musician or piece of music in the search box and in the Article Type box, click on Music Reviews.

Coverage: 1972-present

Contains articles from 850 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album), and then change the dropdown menu to Reviews & Products.

Indexes journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many articles are available fulltext.

To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album). Next, click on More Search Options and in the drop down menu for Document Type, select Review.

Coverage: 1967-present

Comprehensive international guide to writings about music.

To find reviews, first click on the Advanced Search tab. Next, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album) and then click on "Publication Type" at the bottom of the page to choose the type of review(s) you would like to find (e.g., review of edition of music, or review of performance). Lastly, you will click on "Add to search" to return to the Advanced Search page.

Coverage: 1800-1950

International annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture, found in music periodicals published in seventeen countries.

To find reviews, enter a term of interest (for example, a musician's name, or a genre of music, or the title of an album), and under the box that says "Limit your results," select Review under Document Type.