Online Music Scores

Allows simultaneous searching of several online sheet music collections including:
Lester Levy Collection, Johns Hopkins University
Library of Congress
Indiana University
Duke University
UCLA Music Library
Maine Music Box
National Library of Australia
For more information about how to use the Sheet Music Consortium, see the research guide created by UCLA: https://guides.library.ucla.edu/sheetmusicconsortium

Contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music dating from 1780 through 1980. A strength of the collection is its documentation of 19th-century America through popular music.

Contains over 62,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the periods of 1820-1860 and 1870-1885. Includes popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.

A collection of more than 16,000 pieces of sheet music published between 1880 and 1922. These songs were taken from musicals, revues, and operettas primarily of the American and British stage. They are arranged for piano and voice, sometimes simultaneously in arrangements for lower and higher voice.

Contains over 3,000 pieces of sheet music. Antebellum Southern music, Confederate imprints, and Civil War songs are particular strengths of the collection, but piano music, tin pan alley songs, dance music, spirituals, minstrel songs, World War I songs, and other types of music are included.

Contains approximately 150,000 pieces of sheet music spanning from 1800 onward.

Contains over 22,000 works dating from the late-19th through 20th century. Includes five major collections: Vocal Popular Sheet Music Collection, Parlor Salon Collection, Music for Two Pianos - Eight Hands, Maine Music, and the Haywood Jones Collection.

UCLA’s Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. This site provides access to digital versions of the sheet music and performances of the songs now in the public domain.

Includes over 3000 pieces from binders collections dating from the 1830s through the 1850s.

Contains 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900.

Contains over 2,000 pieces of sheet music published in Canada before 1921, selected from Library and Archives Canada's vast collection.

Contains over 1,400 pieces of African-American related sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920. Abolition, the Civil War, and Reconstruction are among the contemporary issues addressed in these songs.

Contains over 600 pieces of sheet music published between 1799 and 1922. Song themes cover early 19th century plantation life, the Civil War period, including abolitionism, emancipation and Reconstruction, early 20th century popular music, and the stereotypical themes associated with blackface minstrelsy.

Contains songs from the Yiddish-language musical stage, as well as art songs, Hebrew and Yiddish language folk songs, and religious music.

More than 5,000 popular tunes dating back to 1865 have been digitized. Includes collections of popular music, show tunes, movie songs, minstrel music, blues, and war songs.

Includes more than 13,000 pieces related to WWI, with the greatest number coming from the years of the United States' active involvement (1917-1918) and the immediate postwar period.

A database of 16,000 objects, including newspaper clippings, photographs, and sheet music of popular songs, show-tunes, jazz and dance music.

Includes two digitized collections: the Oregon Music Collection (music about Oregon or by Oregonians, published between 1880 and 1921) and the Women Composers Collection.

Contains over 960 titles published in Kansas City between 1873 and 1969.

Provides online access to nearly 1,000 pieces spanning from the late 18th through the early 20th century.