Islamic Manuscript Studies

An evolving list of open access digitized Islamic manuscript collections provided by the Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR) team (Chuck Jones, Peter Magierski, Sean Swanick, Andreas Neumann, Birte Kristiansen). First posted 10 December 2010. Lists 65 collections as of 12 July 2021

“This post intends to provide a list of digital resources that facilitate access to Perso-Islamic manuscripts and historical documents for scholarly and educational use, both within Iran and internationally. The resources compiled below are chiefly those which provide image resources, rather than just the catalogue, or the text.” First posted 10 February 2023

"Below are listed digitised manuscript projects, some achieved via international cooperation, some done by individual institutions and / or countries. The list is in alphabetical order of countries of institutions."

"Manuscript collections and catalogues, listed by countries (alphabetical order of country’s name in English). Descriptions are provided either in English or in French or in both of these languages."

"The Database covers examples of the painted page dating from about 700 to 1750 CE from all over the Islamic world. Persian painting is especially widely covered but Arab, Ottoman, Mughal and other sources are all included. The Database includes illuminations, decorated Quran pages and book bindings as well as figurative paintings in manuscripts, albums and on single pages"

Lists and links to digitized manuscripts and catalogues from a wide range of collections. Site occasionally down / inaccessible.

Guide (2017-) to Islamic MSS collections in Europe, North America and beyond from ʻAbd Allāh al-Rāshidī

Abbreviated list highlighting select manuscripts collections, digitized manuscripts, and manuscripts catalogues

A brief, static list of catalogues for Islamic manuscripts provided by The Islamic Manuscript Association (TIMA).

Last updated 2004.09.11

A range of digitized collections, catalogues, and other online resources related to Islamic manuscripts compiled between March 2009 and August 2013

Very abbreviated list compiled in 2013 by early HAZİNE editors Christopher Markiewicz and Nir Shafir

List of links to online collections of fully digitized Islamic manuscripts. Last updated Nov 2015