Research Guides: Graduate Library Reference Collection Resources: More

Overviews & Critical Surveys

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative, analytic reviews of research in 29 focused disciplines within the Biological & Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Permits searching within these three broad categories or across all 29 titles.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 350 full-text volumes, in 15 subject areas across the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of research review articles from the Oxford Handbooks series published by Oxford University Press. Covers 13 subject areas including archaeology, business & management, classics, economics & finance, history, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, politics, psychology, religion, and criminology.

Routledge Handbooks Online
Over 400 handbooks in 18 subject areas, including archaeology, Asian studies, business, classics, communications, criminal justice, economics, education, environment, health, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, politics, psychology, security, sociology, sports and tourism.

Wiley-Blackwell Compass This link opens in a new window
Provides accessible, informative articles that provide overviews of current research in eight different academic subject areas: Geography, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Sociology, and Social & Personality Psychology.

Other Reference Resources

American Film Institute Catalog
Provides comprehensive filmographic information on over 45,000 films, including more than 17,500 made in the early years of film from 1893 to 1910.
UM Access Only
more...less...
Includes over one million personal name entries, including more than 500,000 actors and 27,000 directors. Coverage from 1893-1950, 1961- 1970.
Columbia Gazetteer Online
A fully searchable, encyclopedic database of over 165,000 geographical places and features. Lists names, descriptions, and characteristics including information on population, agriculture, industry, services, climate, and relief.
U-M Access Only
Data Axle
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the Bureau of the Census, etc. Searchable by ZIP code, SIC codes, number of employees, etc.
UM Access Only
Dissertation Abstracts via Proquest
Indexing & authors' abstracts for 90% of the doctoral dissertations and some of the masters theses accepted in North America, plus thousands from around the world.
UM Access Only
more...less...
Provides free full-text access to all UM, CIC/Big Ten and business dissertations since 1997. Coverage: 1861-present (Indexing); 1997- (Full Text of UM, CIC/Big Ten Universities & Business Dissertations only)
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
UM Access Only
Heritage Quest
Includes census records, genealogy and local history articles, the Freedman's Bank, and Revolutionary War era pension and bounty-land warrant applications.
UM Access Only
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
A reference guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory, containing signed articles on critics and theorists, countries, schools and movements, and historical periods.
UM Access Only
UM Faculty and Staff Salary Record
Link to alphabetical list of UM employees' salary information for 2002-2007.
Publicly Available

Last Updated: Nov 22, 2024 6:34 PM

Subjects: General Information Sources