Library Contact
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
More Help
Introduction
The Reference Collection of the Hatcher Graduate Library includes over 15,000 print volumes and many online resources. Print volumes are located primarily in the Reference Reading Room on the second floor, where they line one of the largest and most popular study spaces on campus (pictured at left). Some frequently used volumes are kept in bookcases at the center of this grand room, while many less used volumes have been transferred to the stacks throughout the building.
The Online Index to Hatcher Graduate Library Reference Books allows you to search the full text of most of these print volumes published before 2010, and view the full text of those in the public domain (mostly these are works published before 1929).
Online Reference Collections
Use these to search across many different high-quality encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works licensed by the library that you won't find for free on the web.
- U-M Library Articles Advanced SearchTo limit your search to articles included in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works, use the Format box: scroll down and click on "Reference" in addition to entering search terms in the boxes above. (See the box below for a recorded video demonstration with transcript.)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 volumes of encyclopedias, dictionaries, sourcebooks, etc., including Twayne's Authors & Scribners Writers Series.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOver 300 dictionaries and encyclopedias on all subjects published by Oxford University Press.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowOver 100 scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and related fields.
- Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowOver 70 encyclopedic works on historical, religious, linguistic and international studies topics.
Demonstration: Search Inside Reference Books with U-M Library Articles Advanced Search
Online Reference Resources by Type
Click on the links at the top of the column to the left for lists of the most popular types of reference resources (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Article indexes, Publishing and Media). Below are links to lists of additional types.
Library Networks and Catalogs
- Using Other CatalogsProvides links to U-M libraries and to combined catalogs for library networks in Michigan (MeLCat), the U.S. (Center for Research Libraries Catalog), and the world (WorldCat).
- WorldCat (OCLC)Over 360 million catalog records for books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing the collections held by most libraries in North America and many in Europe and elsewhere. (U-M Access Only)
- WorldCat.orgOver 2 billion citations to articles, books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more, representing the collections held by most libraries in North America and many in Europe and elsewhere, plus 1.9 billion articles and other online resources available on the web and from publishers.