Head, Music Library
Corinne Forstot-Burke
she/her
Contact:
3239 Moore Building
School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2085
734.764.2512
School of Music, Theatre & Dance
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2085
734.764.2512
Introduction
Digital musicology can be understood as a branch of digital humanities focusing on musical topics. Sometimes referred to as Computational Musicology, Digital Musicology has been defined as the study of music with computational modeling and simulation, or musicologically relevant research using quantitative and computational methodologies. Examples take on a variety of forms and styles, not limited to digital editions, sound archives, computational analysis, etc. Project types include creating copora of digital collections, corpus-specific research, development of digital tools and encoding standards, utilization of digital tools in composition, and using digital tools to inform, illuminate, or recreate performance practice.
Where to Start
-
Digital Scholarship at U-MThis guide provides a basic introduction to finding digital scholarship tools, communities, and support.
-
Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM)This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. With a burgeoning number of digital resources available, remembering titles of sites and pathways to them can be difficult. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections.
-
Archive of Digital Applications in Musicology (ADAM)The aim of ADAM is to preserve information about projects in digital musicology that were ground-breaking in their time but lack a substantial online presence. Projects end for a variety of reasons: discontinuation of funding, insurmountable changes of technology, or the retirement of a director. These projects remain stand-outs for the careful musical thinking that underlies them and the innovative approaches they introduced.
-
Electronic and Virtual Editions (EVE)Electronic editions have diverse purposes and therefore pursue different avenues of development. Most are open-ended: further development and refinement can be expected. As pioneers, all share the possibility that changes in hardware, software, and internet protocols may necessitate changes of design and delivery methods. Our listing is limited to open-access projects from which music may be downloaded and in some cases searched, analyzed, listened to, visualized, and re-edited.
-
Harvard Music Library PinboardHarvard's Online Resources for Music Scholars offer a somewhat different, largely complementary mix of projects.
-
Distributed Digital Music Archives & Libraries Lab (DDAML)We focus on developing and evaluating practices, frameworks, and tools for the design and construction of worldwide distributed digital music archives and libraries.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2025 1:22 PM
Subjects: Arts