- University of Michigan Library
- Research Guides
- Global Sexual and Reproductive Health
- Research & Clinical Resources
Global Sexual and Reproductive Health
Education and Research Resource Portals
- Research4LifeResearch4Life is the collective name for HINARI, AGORA, OARE and ARDI. Provides developing countries with free or low cost access to academic and professional peer-reviewed content online. Login/Password required. Please check with your Library.
- MedEdPORTALProvides access to peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources.
- MERLOTA peer reviewed repository of Learning Objects and Open Access content across higher education.
- Open.MichiganOpen access materials created by university faculty & students and submit your own materials. From the U of Michigan.
- WHO IRIS : WHO Institutional Repository for Information SharingSearch the entire collection of WHO publications.
Research Databases
- African Index MedicusAccess to information published in or related to Africa
- AJOL: African Journals OnlineThe world's largest platform of African-published scholarly journals.
- ClinicalTrials.govA database of clinical studies, sponsored primarily by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
- Cochrane LibraryA set of databases of evidence-based research.
- COVIDsearch | N3CAllows for searching across available research preprints, publications, and clinical trial information. From the National Covid Cohort Collaboration (N3C).
- DHS Program Publications | Journal Articles SearchA database of peer-reviewed journal articles with research based entirely or primarily on DHS data. From 2003 to the present.
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed®)Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed
- Evidence in Action Databases & ResourcesSocial and behavior change (SBC) evidence including the Family Planning Database and Reproductive Empowerment Database.
- Global Index MedicusFrom the World Health Organization. Global Index Medicus provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
- Google ScholarLets you search broadly for scholarly literature. It searches a variety of resources, including PubMed, electronic journals, and Google Book Search.
- LitCovid | National Library of MedicineLitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
- PubMedPubMed is the premier biomedical database that indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals.
- UN Women Digital LibraryPublications including reports, assessments, policy statements and briefs addressing aspects of gender equality and empowerment of women.
- WHO International Clinical Trials Registry PlatformA searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
- WHO IRIS : WHO Institutional Repository for Information SharingSearch the entire collection of WHO publications.
- WHO Reproductive Health Library (RHL)A curated collection of evidence in reproductive health. Published by the World Health Organization
- Women Deliver DatabaseA research and practice database from Women Deliver, Women Deliver, an organize which addresses gender equality and the health and rights of girls and women and intersecting identities.
- Sexual and Reproductive Health and Research (SRH)The World Health Organization Department of Sexual and Reproductive Health and Research (SRH) includes the UNDP-UNFPA-UNICEF-WHO-World Bank Special Programme of Research, Development and Research Training in Human Reproduction (HRP).
Background & Clinical Resources
- Best Evidence Topics (BETS)Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
- Cochrane LibraryEvidence generated through research and assessment of useful literature for informing decisions about health by health care providers and researchers around the world.
- EvidenceAlertsCurrent best evidence from research, customized to health care interests. From McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit and DynaMed Plus.
- GLOWM - Global Library of Women's MedicineProvides medical professionals worldwide with free access to a vast, constantly updated, and peer-reviewed resource of clinical information and guidance.
- HIVinfo.NIH.govOffers access to the latest, federally (U.S.)-approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information.
- Medscape Ob/Gyn and Women's Health SectionComprehensive list of women's health articles organized by specialty topic.
- PATH Resources | Sexual and Reproductive HealthPATH is a global non-profit organization that addresses public health issues. PATH Resources is an online catalog indexing publications, presentations, and related resources.
- Trip DatabaseTrip (Turning Research into Practice) is a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine. Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.
Women in Sikasso, Mali, attend a session with the Keneya Jemu Kan (KJK) project, which led a human-centered design process to identify new approaches that can contribute to changing norms in Mali around the timing of the first antenatal care (ANC) visit. © 2017 Caitlin Loehr/CCP, Courtesy of Photoshare
Practice Guidelines
- ECRI Guidelines TrustA portal to clinical practice guideline briefs now available to the healthcare community. Freely available but registration required.
- FIGO StatementsFIGO regularly issues statements and joint statements.
- American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Clinical GuidanceIncludes ACOG Practice Advisories, Committee Opinions and Obstetric Care Consensus Series
- AHRQ Women's Health ResourcesWomen's health guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality