Primary Sources for Historical Legal Research
-
LLMC DigitalIncludes historical materials of U.S. Federal, State, Foreign and International. Access limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
-
Making of Modern Law: Legal TreatisesTreatises on American and British law.
Access limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
Primary Source Collections about Workers and Labor Movements
-
Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics This link opens in a new windowThis category currently consists of three modules. One module, entitled Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century consists of federal government records. A particular strength of this category is its coverage of strikes and radical labor unions in the first half of the 20th Century. The second module, Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO, consists of records sourced from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Catholic University of America, and the AFL-CIO. Researchers interested in labor rights and workers should also search the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle and Women's Studies categories for related materials on American workers in the 20th Century.
-
Digital Collections from the Labadie Collection of Social ProtestThe Labadie Collection, part of the Special Collections Research Center of the University of Michigan Libraries, one of the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive collections of its kind, with materials on anarchism, anti-colonialist movements, antiwar and pacifist movements, atheism and free thought, civil liberties and civil rights, ecology, labor and workers’ rights, feminism, LGBTQ movements, prisons and prisoners, the New Left, the Spanish Civil War, and youth and student protest.
Digitized collections include pamphlets, photographs, pins and posters.
Secondary Sources on History of Labor/Employment Policy: Books and Book Chapters
Find more books in the catalog with the subject Labor laws and legislation United States History 20th century and Labor unions United States History 20th century
Secondary Sources on History of Labor/Employment Policy: Articles
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowA retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2025 1:32 PM
Subjects: Course Help