Noteworthy
Courtney Burns collaborated with Morgan Granzow, a medical and scientific artist from the Penny Stamps School of Art & Design on this piece.
-
Activating the Art Museum: Designing experiences for the health professions
by
Call Number: N435 .S538 2023ISBN: 9781538158555Publication Date: 2023-05-12Activating the Art Museum: Designing Experiences for the Health Professions, the first book on this subject, offers an argument for collaboration between educators in art museums and healthcare professionals. Through descriptions of teaching practices, the authors bring us into the galleries along with participants to demonstrate the value of art museums in supporting humanism in healthcare for the benefit of both practitioners and their patients. It includes advice on selecting meaningful and provocative works of art; models of responsive workshop design; compelling descriptions of gallery experiences; references to supporting medical literature; and the voices of medical students, physicians, and other health professionals. Chapters address key topics including tolerating ambiguity; empathy; interprofessional teamwork; confronting bias; the power of story; caring for the spirit; wellbeing and mindfulness.
New mural helps people visualize the concussion experience
An article in The University Record by Jamie Sherman Blinder, November 18, 2024
- Using creative surgical solutions for creative patients
An article in Michigan Medicine Health Lab by Valerie Goodwin, September 27, 2024
Finding articles about art and design
-
U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles on all topics full text online, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
-
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new windowContains over 100,000 annotated references to articles from over 450 design and craft journals published worldwide; plus data on over 46,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, etc.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of literature covering artists, movements, and photography from the late 19th to present.
Finding Articles - Art History Journals
These titles are a sample of the history of art journals located in the Fine Arts Library. They also represent a sample of the many subjects within the discipline.
-
African ArtsPublished by UCLA, this journal covers the arts and visual culture of the African continent.
-
American ArtPublished by the Smithsonian's National Museum of American Art in Washington, DC.
-
The Art BulletinPublished by the College Art Association
-
Art HistoryPublished by Basil Blackwell
-
The Art NewspaperInternational Edition, published in London, provides news of international art world.
-
MargA journal of South Asian art and architecture, published in Mumbai.
-
Das MunsterA journal of Christian Art and Symbolism, published in Munich.
-
OrientationsA journal published in Hong Kong explores Asian art and culture.
-
Revue de l'ArtPublished by the Comité français d'histoire de l'art
-
SimiolusPublished in Maarssen, this journal covers Dutch art history.
-
TableauA fine arts magazine published in Utrecht and global in scope.
Related Guides
Local Art Museums
The University of Michigan Museum of Art is located on Central Campus at the intersection of South State Street and South University. Visit the museum in person, or search the online UMMA Collections.
The Detroit Institute of Arts is located in Midtown Detroit. Visit the museum in person, or search the online collection.