Research Guides: Translation Studies: Works about translation

Books About Translation

To find books on Translation Studies, search the Library Catalog for "translating and interpreting" as a subject. You may add other relevant keywords in the Advanced Search.

To find books about translating particular languages, search for the subject "X language translating", e.g. French language translating.

To find books about translations of works of specific authors, use a Boolean search for "author's last name AND translations", e.g. Shakespeare AND translations.

If you want to broaden your search, you may use the same strategies in WorldCat.

Articles About Translation

Use the following databases to find articles and book chapters about translation. TIPS suggest an efficient way to search them.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
TIPS: Use 'translation theory' as a subject to find general articles about translation. To find articles about translation of specific works or authors, use the author's name and/or the original title of the work and 'translation' as subjects.
Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of journal articles, monographs, articles from collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts.
TIP: Basic Search usually produces more results than Advanced Search.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
TIPS: The term 'translation' is used very broadly in this database. To find articles about translation of literary works, use 'literary translation' as a descriptor in combination with any relevant keywords.

Gale Literature
Allows simultaneous searching of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography and Literature Criticism.

Reference Works

The following works will give you definitions of key concepts in Translation Studies.

Handbook of Translation Studies This link opens in a new window
Full text articles with scholarly references.

Dictionary of Translation Studies
Graduate Library, P 306.2 .S651 1997
A Dictionary of Translation Technology
Graduate Library Reference Room, P 306.2 .C43 2004
Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation
Contains entries on individual texts, national literatures, essays on theoretical questions, outline of the history of translation into English, and discussions of the problems raised by specific types of text.
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
Online and in Graduate Library Reference Room PN 41 .C831 1991
Routledge Handbooks in Translation and Interpreting Studies
Collection on handbooks dedicated to issues of translation in different contexts such as education, culture, politics, technology, etc.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies
Presents the phenomenon of translation in all its modes and in relation to a wide range of theoretical and methodological traditions.
A World Atlas of Translation
Presents translation in the different historical, cultural and linguistic traditions of the world.

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2024 2:53 PM

Tags: translations