Library Contact
Other Library Research Guides
Policy Research Resources
- Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system.
- PolicyArchive This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Collects and archives policies and policy research.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 2.8 million+ policy reports, briefs, analyses, and datasets from IGOs, NGOs, and think tanks.
- Overton.io This link opens in a new windowProvides the world’s largest collection of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers.
- Social Policy: Essential Primary SourcesA collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope. Published in 2007.
Databases for Background on Policies and Laws
- CQ Researcher, 1923 - presentCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each article provides an introductory overview, background information , and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions. Articles also provide extensive bibliographies for further research.
Consider using CQ Researcher to start your search. This database provides in-depth, unbiased research reports on social trends, health, criminal justice, education, international affairs, the environment, technology and the economy. Information is available from 1923 to current issues in today's news. Quick video guide to CQ Researcher from your librarian and a video from CQ Researcher below.
Highly Recommended Databases for Policy Background
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIn PQ Congressional you can look up the exact wording of bills, acts and laws, read Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports for extensive background on current and historic government legislation, and find Congressional Hearings and other Congressional documents. See further details on the Laws and Statutes" tab of this guide.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- CQ Congress CollectionProvides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making.
- Congress.govFor free access to U. S. Congressional publications, laws, legislative activity, and Congressional Research Service Reports.
- CQ AlmanacCQ Almanac contains summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congresses dating back to 1945. This is a good place to go for the "story" of how the bill became a law.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Topical encyclopedias can come in handy by providing brief background information, including history, key issues and people, and references to other works. Below are a few examples of encyclopedias in the Library's electronic collection. Many more are available both online and in the Hatcher Reference Room in print.
American Immigration: an Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change by ISBN: 1317477170Publication Date: 2015
American Prisons and Jails: an encyclopedia of controversies and trends by ISBN: 9781610695015Publication Date: 2018This two-volume encyclopedia provides an examination of the history and current character of American prisons and jails and their place in the U.S. corrections system.- The gun debate : an encyclopedia of gun control & gun rights in the United States byISBN: 178684298XPublication Date: 2016
Databases for Alternative Viewpoints
- Issues & ControversiesCovers various viewpoints on a number of topics related to social policy. One of the most recent discussions covers the issue "To what degree should child services agents and the general public be held accountable for an instance of child abuse?" This article gives the evolution of child protective laws in the U.S.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowCovers current social and cultural issues, and includes pro and con "viewpoint" essays, topic overviews, primary sources, and news articles.