The resources below contain selections of full text books. The books are great foundational resources for gathering background information, and can be very useful when you are delving into a new discipline. Contact your librarians for assistane finding what you need: firstname.lastname@example.org
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
"This encyclopedia provides a one-stop source for theories and theoretical concepts and a relatively comprehensive overview of the entire field of communication theory."
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Contains over 1300 entries that range across academic disciplines. Useful for topics in communication studies, sociology, psychology, information science, public policy and linguistics, among others. *Access restricted to current U-M students, faculty, and staff.
Library Search: Communication Studies Databases
View a complete listing of databases in the "Communications" category in Library Search, the University of Michigan's gateway to electronic resources. Included in this listing will be scholarly article databases as well as a variety of other resources. *Many, but not all, of the databases and resources in this list will be restricted to authorized UM users through validated login.
World Press Encyclopedia (2003)
Covers over 200 countries and their press/media systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include background info, economic framework, general characteristics, size and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, journalism education, more. *Access limited to current U-M students, faculty and staff.
Health & Medicine
This resource includes over 30 clinical and educational online textbooks, and provides access to information for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, and self-assessment or board review.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics (2004)
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Includes 50 searchable full-text textbooks (text and image searching), drug information, access to the Clinics of North America, drug information, drug safety notices, practice guidelines, patient education handouts, and medical information in the news.
81 leading full-text online textbooks in a variety of disciplines. Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and ACP-PIER. Content is searchable by subject category, cross-searching by all or selected texts. Search features include image searching of textbook content.
Taubman Health Sciences Library E-books List
Search for electronic books in the biomedical and health sciences.
Social Science Research Methodologies
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research
Provides a comprehensive compendium covering the important methodological issues encountered in doing case study research, and exploring both their strengths and weaknesses from different paradigmatic approaches.
Encyclopedia of Social Medicine
Captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena.
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
This encyclopedia brings together, in one place, authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative.
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
A comprehensive reference work covering the methodological and theoretical diversity of the cognitive sciences.
SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
The Sage Glossary is the first attempt to deal with this issue comprehensively and to combine and compare terminology in nine separate social and behavioral science disciplines: communication, economics, education, geography, media studies, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology.