Finding Books
Find books on environmental engineering by doing a "Word(s) anywhere" or title search in U-M Library Catalog Search. A word search is generally the best starting point. If an appropriate title is found, you may want to use the subject headings listed with that title to guide further searches.
Online Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Dictionaries
These selected resources are available online to University of Michigan affiliated students, staff & faculty. You can also visit Knovel, AccessEngineering, and Taylor & Francis eBooks and to view other online reference works.
-
Environmental Engineers' Handbook
by
ISBN: 0849399718Publication Date: 1997The Environmental Engineers' Handbook, Second Edition is a single source of current information. It covers in depth the interrelated factors and principles that affect our environment and how we have dealt with them in the past, are dealing with them today, and how we will deal with them in the future. -
The Civil Engineering Handbook
by
ISBN: 0849309581Publication Date: 2002First published in 1995, the Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference. -
The Engineering Handbook
by
ISBN: 0849315867Publication Date: 2004The Engineering Handbook is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices. -
Handbook of Ecomaterials
by
ISBN: 9783319682549Publication Date: 2019In this handbook, the editors systematically present the maximum possible number of known eco-materials, including "cyclic" materials; materials for ecology and environmental protection; materials for society and human health; and materials for energy based on two main criteria: their sources and their functions. Eco-materials are materials that enhance, or refrain from damaging, the environment throughout their life cycles. -
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition
by
ISBN: 9781259586088Publication Date: 2016Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. -
Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual, Third Edition
by
ISBN: 9780071819817Publication Date: 2014Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual provides basic principles, best practices, and detailed calculations for surface water, groundwater, drinking water treatment, and wastewater engineering. -
Hydrogeology Field Manual
by
ISBN: 9780071477499Publication Date: 2008Hydrogeology Field Manual provides the latest information on applied applications in groundwater sampling and water-quality assessment, aquifer characterization, contamination issues, karst applications, and more. -
Water and Wastewater Engineering: Design Principles and Practice, Second Edition
by
ISBN: 9781260132274Publication Date: 2019In-Depth Guide to Water and Wastewater Engineering, revised to reflect the latest advances, procedures, and regulations, this authoritative resource contains comprehensive coverage of the design and construction of municipal water and wastewater facilities.
Citation Management Tools
The library can help you with different tools for managing your footnotes and creating bibliographies. Those tools are EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley. Expert help is available from Scholarspace.
-
EndNoteYou buy the software and install it on your computer. See the EndNote guide for more information.
-
ZoteroA free Firefox extension that you use on your own computer, not library or Sites machines. It's good for citing web resources but still in beta. Visit the Zotero guide for more information.
-
MendeleyMendeley is a citation management tool that lets you collect and organize citations, and then easily insert them into documents and format bibliographies. Visit the Mendeley guide for more information.
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2025 3:00 PM
Subjects: Engineering