Suggest a Title
You may recommend a title for purchase by the Library by filling out this web form.
Finding Books
Find books on civil engineering by doing a "Word(s) anywhere" or title search in U-M Library Catalog Search. A word search is generally the best starting point. If an appropriate title is found, you may want to use the subject headings listed with that title to guide further searches.
Online Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & Dictionaries
These selected resources are available online to University of Michigan affiliated students, staff & faculty. For a comprehensive listing of engineering handbooks available online please see ENGnetBASE.
The Civil Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 9780429121951Publication Date: 2002First published in 1995, the Civil Engineering Handbook has become one of the standard resources on civil engineering.
Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice by ISBN: 9780470438411Publication Date: 2011A hands-on, single-source guide to the professional practice of civil engineering.
Civil Engineering Materials by ISBN: 9780081002759Publication Date: 2015Civil Engineering Materials explains why construction materials behave the way they do. It covers the construction materials content for undergraduate courses in civil engineering and related subjects and serves as a valuable reference for professionals working in the construction industry.
Encyclopedia of Earthquake EngineeringISBN: 9783642361975The Encyclopedia of Earthquake Engineering is designed to be the authoritative and comprehensive reference covering all major aspects of the science of earthquake engineering, specifically focusing on the interaction between earthquakes and infrastructure.
The Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 9781315220338Publication Date: 2005The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition, is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices.
Handbook of Structural Engineering by ISBN: 9780429114953Publication Date: 2005Handbook of Structural Engineering is a comprehensive reference to the broad spectrum of structural engineering, encapsulating the theoretical, practical, and computational aspects of the field.
RS Means CostWorksOnline access to the complete RSMeans Library including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 building assemblies and 42,000 facilities repair and remodeling costs covering every category of construction.
Sustainability Issues in Civil Engineering by ISBN: 9789811019302Publication Date: 2016This compilation on sustainability issues in civil engineering comprises contributions from international experts who have been working in the area of sustainability in civil engineering.
E-Book Collections
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Features access to books from many different publishers and includes reference handbooks and conference proceedings.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 25,000 academic books published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.