Other Useful Guides
- Materials CollectionA research guide created by the U-M Library focusing on materials selection.
- Materials Science and EngineeringA research guide created by the U-M Library on where to find materials sciences information.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Use the resources below to find information on materials properties such as hardness, density, thermal conductivity, tensile strength, etc.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Features access to books from many different publishers and includes reference handbooks and conference proceedings.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowResource for physical and chemical data in materials science.
- ASM International HandbooksASM Handbooks provides materials data for metals, ceramics, and composites. Access is via the database Knovel.
- MatWebSelect materials by name or designation, search for materials that meet your property requirements, find metals based on their constituent elements, or search for specific materials.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023Find information on physical constants and properties.
Material Selection, Supplier, and Product Resources
TOP DATABASE
- Material ConneXion DatabaseMaterial ConneXion offers access to an eclectic and constantly growing collection of over 7,000 innovative materials and processes.
- MatWeb This link opens in a new windowSelect materials by name or designation, search for materials that meet your property requirements, find metals based on their constituent elements, or search for specific materials.
OTHER DATABASES
- The A to Z of MaterialsMaterials information source for the engineering and design community.
- Materials Lab, UT AustinThis is a web directory of materials and building products websites created by a student at UT-Austin School of Architecture.
- ASM Medical Materials Database This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, peer-reviewed database providing a single source for materials data to support Surgical, Cardiovascular, Orthopaedic, and Neurological medical device design.
- Materials Library at Institute of MakingDescriptions and images of materials curated by the Institute of Making in London.
- ProQuest Material Science CollectionFind research on materials from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.