There are many publically available collections of video and audio
files. Of course, one must consider copyright laws when downloading
anything from the web. Here are some sites that offer downloadable
video and sound files.
Historical Collections for the National Digital Library. American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from over 100 collection
These 16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.
Digital Image Databases
For a comprehensive guide to finding images, check out the Images guide.
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected older photos from 1844 to the present. Updated continuously.
Archivision Art Images is a growing collection of high resolution images of two- and three-dimensional art rom Italian, French, Canadian, and US collections. The images are licensed by the library for academic use.
ARTstor is a database of thousands of images brought together to serve the scholarly and instructional needs of art historians, as well as students and faculty in the humanities and related social sciences.
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
The educational branch of The Bridgeman Art Library, Bridgeman Education is a dedicated service that supports the use of high-quality images in education, be it teaching, research or reference. The database allows you to search across all media including; photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology & ethnography, history, science & medicine, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts.
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world.