Research Guides: Information & Library Science: Reference, Statistics &amp; Data

Reference Materials (handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, etc.)

O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Need guidebooks for programming languages? Development and design guides? Safari Books Online provides searchable full-text of recent technical books. Note: concurrent user limit of 7 users at one time.

Gale eBooks
Provides online access to the complete full text of over 100 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers. Includes: Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Datapedia of the U.S., International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, World Press Encyclopedia, and many more. Individual titles are arranged by subject category.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes approximately 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including a science and technology collection.
Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new window
Business, leadership, management, technology, and engineering e-books, audiobooks, and videos.

ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science, 4th edition
Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security
Dictionary of Information Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Archival Science
Encyclopedia of Computer Science (2003)
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
Handbook of Internet Studies (2011)
Human Computer Interaction: Fundamentals
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
Online version of the largest reference work published in the social and behavioral sciences. Subjects covered include: anthropology, communications, psychology, demography, economics, education, gender studies, law, linguistics,public policy, sociology, urban planning, etc.
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science (ODLIS)
"Broad in scope, ODLIS includes not only the terminology of the various specializations within LIS but also the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science"
PC Magazine Encyclopedia
Brief definitions of computer and software industry terms and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction, 2nd ed.
From the Interaction Design Foundation, freely available resource covering " ... the design of interactive products and services such as websites, household objects, smartphones, computer software, aircraft cockpits, and what have you."
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, 4th Edition
This major reference work includes over 550 entries. It reflects the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.

Statistics

Academic Library Trends and Statistics (ACRL)

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Includes statistics on libraries from National Center for Education Statistics as well as IMLS (Institute of Museum and Library Services). Browse by subject - education. Also includes statistics on information and communication technology (ICT).

Finding Statistics and Data Sets
by Catherine Morse Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 2739 views this year

Research on libraries (Pew Research Center)
Internet, Science and Technology research (Pew Research Center)
IMLS Data Catalog
Find data from the Institute of Museum and Libraries Services (IMLS) — comprising agency data such as grants administration and data about museums, libraries, and related organizations.
Public Libraries Survey (PLS) Data and Reports (IMLS)
Annual data about public libraries, going back to 1992

Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics.

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 12:37 PM

Subjects: Social Sciences

Tags: archives, hci, human computer interaction, informatics, information architecture, preservation, usability, user experience, ux