Research Guides: Information & Library Science: Databases

LIS (Library & Info Science), ARM (Archives & Records Mgmt) & Preservation Related Resources

LISA (Library & Information Science Abstracts (via ProQuest)
LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Major areas of coverage include: Artificial intelligence; Book reviews; Computer applications; Information centres; Information technology, Internet technology; Knowledge management; Librarianship; Libraries and archives; Library management, use and users; Medical information; Online information retrieval; Publishing and bookselling; Records management.
Library Literature and Information Science Index (via EBSCO)
Indexing of nearly 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Also includes chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses and pamphlets. Coverage goes back to 1980s. (Formerly a H. W. Wilson database.)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multi-disciplinary database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes useful intersection of engineering, computer science and social science.
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Need guidebooks for programming languages? Development and design guides? Safari Books Online provides searchable full-text of recent technical books. Note: concurrent user limit of 7 users at one time.

INSPEC
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Computer Database (technology trade and business news)
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for over 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications and electronic industries.
ProQuest Technology Collection
Combines full text journals with indexing of global literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering.
Computer and Information System Abstracts
This database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications from around the world, with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse).

Google Scholar (with UM Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from U-M at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by U-M Library.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage of more than 500 full-text journals in the communication and mass media fields.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multi-disciplinary database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Includes useful intersection of engineering, computer science and social science.

Web of Science
Search for articles in the sciences and social sciences. Use of Web of Science to search for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as search by subject, author, journal, and author address. *Covers 12,000+ journals*
ProQuest
Combined access to 50+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including: Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses.

PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, business, computers, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes 1,800 sociology-related journals & magazines back to 1895, with full text for 620 of them, plus indexing for books, etc.

Nexis Uni
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 12:37 PM

Subjects: Social Sciences